VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hey folks!

I am quite a noob to CLI encoding, but i have had some experience with it ages ago.
    Sadly my brain is pretty flawed, so i am trying hard to scrape the right commands together for (batch) transcoding X264 to X265 with FFMPEG.
    Sources are nearly all FHD TV Shows ripped from Bluray or HDTV.

This command is what i have right now:

ffmpeg -i input -c:v libx265 -preset superfast -crf 24 -c:a aac -b:a 386k output.mkv

VERY IMPORTANT:
    1. the same aspect ratio as input
    2. same frame rate as input
    3. same resolution as input
    4. all subtitle streams same as input
    5. all audio streams with same mixdown, same Khz, transcoded into 386k AAC
    6. video stream transcoded to x265 with CRF 22
    7. MKV as container
    8. Output file name same as source plus an added "-DONE" or something like that

I have searched the documentation, googled for hours and hours, but i dont know how to procede.
    If someone could help me get the commands right, then i can move on to try to write a batch file with them..

To point 1,2,3: AFAIK FFMPEG would do just as i want it in default setting. Is this right? Would this apply to the command line i wrote, or do i have to add something?
    To point 4: AFAIK in default setting FFMPEG would only use 1 subtitle, not all available. What to i need to add to have it copy all subs to output mkv?
    To point 5: I think the 386 kbs AAC thing i got right, but how do i have it use the same mixdown, sample rate and transcode all audio streams to output mkv?
    To point 6: I think i got this right.. Or am i missing something?
    To point 7: And this one too, or not?
    To point 8: Now with this one, i am totally clueless..

Any help would be appreciated.. I have some hundreds of hours to transcode, and CLI would be perfect. Using a GUI for this would be a true nightmare..

Kind regards
    Quote Quote