VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    Specs:

    OS: Windows 10
    GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 970
    CPU: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4440 CPU @ 3.10GHz (4 CPUs), ~3.1GHz
    RAM: 8GB

    I've tried a lot of things, at first I used SVP but I gave up on that really quickly, huge frame drops. I tried various madVR configurations I found on the internet, from really high-end ones, to the absolute bare bones. With some settings, I can play certain videos (even with SVP) in windowed mode without experiencing frame drops, but when I go fullscreen, the frame drops come flooding in. What do I do?
    Quote Quote  
  2. 1. run "restore default settings.bat"
    2. start video in fullscreen
    3. press ctrl+j to activate OSD
    4. press ctrl+r to reset counter and let it run an bit
    5. make screenshot and post it here
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    Click image for larger version

Name:	2.png
Views:	1068
Size:	90.7 KB
ID:	40651Click image for larger version

Name:	1.png
Views:	852
Size:	3.48 MB
ID:	40652

    First one is 60fps, second is 23-24fps.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Windowed fullscreen is not default setting, I believe?
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    How do I check that?
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    Also, if you need my DxDiag: http://pastebin.com/wvh8M5ye
    Quote Quote  
  7. Originally Posted by fighuass View Post
    How do I check that?
    Reset settings like explained above. Then in settings: rendering>general settings>enable automatic fullscreen exclusive mode. That said, according to you it runs fine in windowed mode but not in fullscreen so this is kinda strange. The queues also seem to be filling up although in the second screenshot the present queue drops down to 1-8.

    In general settings you can also test "use Direct3D 11...." and/or "use a separate device for presentation" and/or "windowed overlay" (for overlay try without fullscreen exclusive mode).

    Are you using MPC-HC? Then go Play>Filters and copy&paste the list here. Other than that see if the GPU clocks are stable (GPU-Z) or if you have DPC latency problems using the DPC Latency Checker.
    Last edited by sneaker; 22nd Feb 2017 at 05:33.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    Enable automatic fullscreen exclusive mode is enabled by default. Fiddled around with the settings you mentioned, but I still get framedrops.

    Yeah, I use MPC-HC, here are my filters (from top to bottom): ReClock Audio Renderer, madVR, Audio Switcher, LAV Video Decoder (internal), LAV Audio Decoder (internal), LAV Splitter Source (internal).


    The DPC Latency Checker tells me that "This machine should be able to handle real-time streaming of audio and/or video data without drop-outs.". My current latency seems to average between 501-562 Ás. Absolute maximum is 621 Ás.

    Results from GPU-Z are as follows: Click image for larger version

Name:	1.gif
Views:	195
Size:	22.1 KB
ID:	40668Click image for larger version

Name:	2.gif
Views:	174
Size:	13.9 KB
ID:	40669
    Quote Quote  
  9. Then I'm pretty much out of ideas. There have been similar reports but without any obvious solution.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    I guess I'll just switch to Ubuntu and use mpv, then.
    Quote Quote  
  11. You know mpv runs on Windows as well?
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    Yes, but the Linux version has certain things the Windows version doesn't have. And I want to get rid of Windows anyway.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads