VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I'm used to watching my DVD's but I recently got a Blu-Ray set for the same thing.

They look so different color wise though and I think I prefer the DVD colors or closer to them. I think the Blu-Ray looks a little more yellowish tinted.

Can anyone help me get closer to the DVD colors in avisynth? It doesn't have to be exact but a bit closer would be nice. I'm not too good with color editing/correction or reading those graphs made in avisynth I've seen posted before elsewhere.

I have uploaded a couple images with a comparison of the 2.
    Last edited by killerteengohan; 14th Oct 2017 at 14:56.
    Quote Quote  
  2. I thought I would try a few Hue/Sat changes in tweak but it didn't seem to work out too well. A little more added saturation looked nice to me, but didn't affect the overall colors too much.

Can I reduce just the yellow color/tint a little bit perhaps, maybe make it a little more red or blue?

I tried out something called histogram and colorYUV but I don't fully get what to look for in the histogram.

ColorYUV(off_u=2) looks a little closer to me, but still not what I was hoping for.

I tried adding a bit of saturation as well, then lessened it more to about 1.05, but there's these line breaks appearing in the white parts of the histogram when saturation is added. Are those lines a bad thing?

Heres what I'm talking about with the lines. Take a look at the histogram.
    Last edited by killerteengohan; 14th Oct 2017 at 14:57.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Whats confusing me is, the DVD and Blu-Ray histograms look close to the same to me when it comes to being in the middle, so why are the colors looking so different. And whats with the line breaks in the histogram when I add saturation or brightness/contrast? Are those line breaks in the histogram a bad thing? (Example is just above)
    Last edited by killerteengohan; 14th Oct 2017 at 14:57.
    Quote Quote