VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Greetings,

I create walkthru animations with uncompressed CG TGA files ( resized in VirtualDub ) in an AVI contianer uploaded to YouTube. Max 20GB

Q : Is there real any advantage to converting the AVI into another format / codedec prior to uploading to YouTube ( or any video site for that matter ) ?

It is my understanding that they are compressing / converting to their own format regardless.

I would think it would only degrade the final product.

TIA -David
    Quote Quote  
  2. As you said: Youtube always converts anyways.

Only pros for converting:
    - faster upload
    - (possibly) faster conversion on the youtube side

Of course then the question is what is faster? That you have to test yourself.

Some services other than Youtube may allow upload without re-encoding in specific cases.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Seeing how I am not very good with avisynth and everything else is done in single VirtuaDub session ( open the 1st TGA file, load saved settings, saveas AVI ), maybe it's better to stay with what I have.

As far as upload speed, it's not a high priority for me. Smoothness and sharp images are more about what I'm after.

Thanks! -David
    Quote Quote  
  4. You stated you are uploading uncompressed TGA files as AVI. That is the gold standard for those who can afford the bandwidth. My only question is what are you resizing to? Hopefully youtube is hosting your 4K uploads.
    Quote Quote  
  5. not sure if you'll encounter this, but i once tried uploading a measly 50 mb mp4 which would never finish uploading. weird right?

anyway, remedy was encoding:
    - in mkv (h264+aac) - highest quality you want
    - small gop size of 15 and
    - -movflags faststart (ffmpeg)
    Quote Quote  
  6. I'm going from 1536x864 to 1280x720

I'm on Verison FIOS 85MB

YouTube hasn't balked at anything that I've tried to upload so far. The longest is still under 2 minutes

Thanks! -David
    Quote Quote