VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    Hi there,

I'm brand new to this so please excuse my terminology.

I am launching a new social media site very soon that will allow families to share and record memories for generations to come. One of the features that we would like to include is the option to convert your old VHS, VHS-C and older videos to DVD quality for cloud storage for their particular families page to share forever.

Long story short, I'm look for some advice on equipment to purchase - what would be the best quality equipment to convert these types of videos? We would offer the DVD to them or USB to them - we would also send it to the cloud for storage on their particular profile/family page. Any help would be great.

I don't mind spending the money to get good products and I don't mind having to purchase computers just for this.

Thank you again,

Phil
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    The VHS players you find will be used(probably VERY used) since they do not make them anymore....you know that right?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Originally Posted by geneomyadmin View Post
    I'm brand new to this
    Big red flag right there: you should not offer such a service unless or until you are very comfortable and knowledgeable about what is required (or you hire an employee or outside firm to do this for you).

I don't mind spending the money to get good products and I don't mind having to purchase computers just for this.
    Money has little or nothing to do with it at this point. Things go in cycles, and the cycle for converting old family videos to digital peaked more than ten years ago. Even then, it often required rare premium-grade VCRs that had already been discontinued a decade prior. Today, finding one of those premium VCRs in perfect condition is very difficult, and the selection of PC encoding accessories (or standalone recorders) has dwindled to almost nothing.