VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Looking for a good software to compress BD Remuxes (untouched bit rate etc so full BD quality - i am sure you get what i mean) down to much smaller MKV's for consumption a Nook HD+

The Nook has a 9" screen and can play 1080P.

Goal is to get a good number of remuxes onto an microSD card - SD card is 64GB.

I am a newb to this so you guys know a whole lot more then me, so maybe you could recommend an approximate bitrate to aim for? I would like to keep file sizes to 2GB or a bit less, maybe 1.5GB. I would think AC3 audio for compatibility?

I know there are many programs to do this - my head is aching reading about them. I just dont know which one is a great one never having used them before.

So, whaich program will do what i want ?
    Quote Quote  
  2. OK so RipBot looks good. Is there any other out there that would be better or are they all pretty much the same?
    Quote Quote  
  3. They are mostly the same (relying on the same underlying encoding softwares). It comes down to personal preference.

Originally Posted by Rev Jim Jones View Post
    I am a newb to this so you guys know a whole lot more then me, so maybe you could recommend an approximate bitrate to aim for? I would like to keep file sizes to 2GB or a bit less, maybe 1.5GB. I would think AC3 audio for compatibility?
    File size = bitrate * duration

For best tablet compatibility use H.264 video + Stereo LC-AAC audio in mp4 container.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Thanks sneaker.

WOW - go back to MP4 container. I thought MKV was the almost defacto standard now - but then again, as you say, all sorts of tablets and android phones will play MP4's. So that all makes sense.
    Quote Quote