VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Greetings -

I have some old videotapes from the 80s that I need to begin digitizing in about a week, I thought I would ask some questions ahead of time since I've never done this before.

-The computer I'll use to do the work is a laptop dual core 1.9 cpu with 4 gigs ram, will this machine be sufficiently powerful for the capture work?

-What's a good/user friendly software to do the video capturing?

-What codec and resolution would I want to use for capturing? I will use no effects or filters for capturing, I just want to make digital files, not dvds.

I bought one of those little converters for the job, it has a usb port on one end, and on the other end has the video and audio in ports.

Any thoughts or advice is appreciated, I want to do this right, as the videotapes are of family etc.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    What is your VHS deck name and model?

What is your VHS capture (Converter) device?

I'm guessing you are using composite output from the VCR?

For software, it depends on the software. I would use VirtualDub for capture if your device supports it.
    Otherwise, use the devices software.

The better way is to use a Svideo output from your VCR and a TBC )Time Base Corrector) to help stabilize the video.
    But try it with what you have. You could also consider a commercial company to do the capturing/conversion.

The capture codec may depend on your capture device, or your software. Many options. What do you want your
    final output format to be?

I would rather capture in in lossless format, but with a laptop, probably not enough hard drive space.

But other members may give better advice.

And welcome to our forums.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Red - thanks for the reply and the welcome.

-The VCR is just some sanyo 4-head, it should do the job fine I think. It doesn't have an s-video output.