VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and copy Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs! Or rip iTunes movies and music! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
Thread
  1. Member vhelp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New York
    Search Comp PM
    solved.. (2016-11-09 Wed, a.m.) see post # 10 below.

    I've been at it for several hours, but to no avail. I just can't get this to encode any videos due to lack of avisynth support in my new system.

    But let me explain. I have not installed avisynth. I have a usb flash drive that I set up for this successfully. I've been using it on my work pc with the new i7-6700 pc to test encodes in avc and hevc. So, everything works. But that OS is windows 7 pro.

    On my new system at home, i7-6600U, and windows 10 pro, it will not do anything. keeps giving me an error that it can't load LSMash. The exact error is:

    avs: LoadPlugin: unable to load "LAMASHsource.dll". Module not found. Install missing library.

    My assumption is that there is no avisynth support for windows 10 pro. So, is there some portable version that might work ? Otherwise, I'm out of ideas.
    Last edited by vhelp; 9th Nov 2016 at 09:37.
    Quote Quote  
  2. I don't have Win10 on any machines but people have avisynth working on Win10 . Install avisynth and place the .dll's in the plugins directory, or load the appropriate plugins. Either that or don't use avisynth input (you can use QSV without avisynth, but obviously you can't use an .avs as input then)
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member vhelp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New York
    Search Comp PM
    I am trying not to install anything on this new pc, in case I have to return it. I have everything on a mem stick. The same one I made for the i7-6700 at work. It should work, but is not.

    As for the avisynth and QSV. I did try with a plain video, but it won't load. I've been using the same video (from a capture session) using the UT codec, lossless. But it won't load it. I installed the UT codec, on the mem stick instead of the pc, for reasons stated above. It works fine and loads into virtualdub with no problems. So there is no problems loading codecs onto another drive all together. Its just QSV that seems to be a problem. However, I also can't get x265 to work either. It complains about avs4x265.exe and hangs. I'm running the 64bit version of windows 10 pro.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member vhelp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New York
    Search Comp PM
    Is there another way to load that UT video.avi into QSV ? I don't want to create a y4m file. I am working solely off the mem stick. All my apps and any apps I need to install are on the mem stick in the tools folder, thus, D:\tools
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member vhelp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New York
    Search Comp PM
    I am getting the same problems with x264, it won't load LSMASHsource.dll
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member vhelp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New York
    Search Comp PM
    ok, AVIsource() won't open any videos either. So, it doesn't matter what CLI tool I use to encode a video.

    Is there an official "portable" avisynth for windows 10 pro 64bit ?
    Quote Quote  
  7. Looks like you are in the land of creating your own build if you need that kind of custom functionality on a tool that quite frankly is best described as legacy software. Be glad it works in w10 at all. Have you tried vapoursynth? I believe most of the critical filters have been ported. All these xp era tools got extended leases on their life because w8 was vista all over again. However, the clock is now ticking unless you want to maintain a legacy system which is getting increasingly harder what with high bit depth and 444 color and all.
    Quote Quote  
  8. What are you doing that requires avisynth ?

    vapoursynth has a portable version . But you still need to install python. Avisynth+ might have a portable version (I think megui uses it)

    or you can use ffmpeg to encode QS, or QSVEncC can use the --avqsv (ie quicksync decoder) without avisynth

    EDIT:
    From version 2.5.8 and latter on page 2 of the installer choose the "Standalone, Unpack Files only" type of install.

    The installer will just dump all it's files into your specified install directory for you to manipulate. Products like MeGui can include a local/portable copy of Avisynth for use on systems where Avisynth is not installed.
    http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1628597#post1628597
    Last edited by poisondeathray; 9th Nov 2016 at 09:01.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Originally Posted by poisondeathray View Post
    vapoursynth has a portable version . But you still need to install python.
    You can make it portable including Python.
    http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?p=1753199#post1753199

    But there's a learning curve...
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member vhelp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New York
    Search Comp PM
    update.. issue has been resolved.

    I found out what was causing all CLI apps to fail.

    Initially, when I first saw my video listed in folder explorer, I didn't like the long filename. So, I changed it to a much shorter one: "video.avi"

    Can anyone spot the error I made ? Probably not. I sure didn't!

    Ok. So here's what happened. When I did that, explorer did not update the file's extension. Instead, it tread the .avi as part of the filename, thus: "video.avi.avi"

    All CLI apps, and anything that was looking for "video.avi" would never find it, because it was actually "video.avi.avi"

    Windows 10 Pro 64bit, and any other OS that is newly installed or pre-installed on a new system will have the following criteria setting:

    [x] "hide extensions to known file types"

    We need to uncheck that so that all file extensions show, otherwise, you will be padding so called, extensions as filename strings.

    Thank you all for trying to help me solve this. Hopefully, this will help others in their new system endeavors
    Quote Quote  
  11. haha! user error. luv it!
    Quote Quote  
  12. Originally Posted by vhelp View Post
    [x] "hide extensions to known file types"

    We need to uncheck that so that
    That's the very first thing everyone should do on a Windows system. The extension is an important part of the file name and should never be hidden. Windows shouldn't even have the option to do so.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads