VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. First off, this is a long post filled with many examples, you can see how much I care in getting this right. If you know what you're doing regarding this and feel like you know what's what in this field, I appreciate you taking the time to go through all of this.

I know the general idea is that personal preference is the answer, but as a novice I still don't really know how much is too much, even by looking at the graphs (vectorscope, histogram, etc) as I don't know everything about them. These videos were recorded with a camcorder 6 years ago, I'm combining and color correcting them in Vegas before frameserving out to avisynth for QTGMC and ccd.vdf.

Before I show you some examples for guidance, note that I have already set a white balance on the project.

Regular:

Click image for larger version

Name:	1.jpg
Views:	262
Size:	415.6 KB
ID:	39082

White Balance:

Name:	2.jpg
Views:	217
Size:	415.1 KB
ID:	39083

Now here it is with color corrector and a saturation of 1.306:

Name:	3.jpg
Views:	275
Size:	687.3 KB
ID:	39084

And my preference for the sake of this thread, 1.612:

Name:	4.jpg
Views:	226
Size:	698.6 KB
ID:	39085

So in these next set of examples you will see the comparison between the regular footage (with white balance obviously), midway through my preferred saturation level, and then my preferred one.

Regular

Name:	5.jpg
Views:	229
Size:	672.0 KB
ID:	39088

Name:	6.jpg
Views:	254
Size:	682.5 KB
ID:	39087

Name:	7.jpg
Views:	277
Size:	693.7 KB
ID:	39086

Regular

Name:	8.jpg
Views:	205
Size:	680.0 KB
ID:	39089

Name:	9.jpg
Views:	278
Size:	691.6 KB
ID:	39090

Name:	10.jpg
Views:	280
Size:	704.2 KB
ID:	39091

Now let's get to the action shots, people, etc. Why I think my "more" makes the most sense and looks the most real in regards to how the world looks, to an extent, if that makes any sense.

Regular

Name:	11.jpg
Views:	190
Size:	719.2 KB
ID:	39092

Name:	12.jpg
Views:	233
Size:	730.5 KB
ID:	39093