VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Okay everybody, this is my second post about this issue. I have an HV40 that isn't recognized by my computer. I have done everything online that is mentioned.. including trying many different drivers, a different firewire cable, ect. I plugged the camera into another computer an old Macbook maybe from 2006 or something. I have never used Macs before. Would the device "Pop up" on a mac like it does on a desktop? How can I tell whether the device is being recognized? Well long story short I purchased another used HV40 on ebay.. and guess what?? same problems. I can't get it recognized on the windows 7 desktop I have or the old macbook. I have two firewire cables.. but I just purchased two more which will be here in 48 hours I can use to test.. just in case somehow BOTH firewire cables are bad. I find it hard to believe both cameras firewire ports are bad.
    *Does anyone know if firewire devices "pop up" on a macbook?
    *Does anyone know if its possible to transfer HD video from the HV40 in any other fashion? I do have composite cables cords and HDMI cords which I know transmit 1080 HD video.
    *I don't have another firewire device other than these two HV40s.. But is there anyway to test a firewire port? I have two cards now in my desktop so I find it highly unlikely its a port problem or a hardware problem.

Any help will be appreciated.. I'm seriously about to bash these cameras to pieces.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    wow. i can't say i've ever had a firewire problem like that. if you put the cam firewire port into DV out mode, then with the cam turned on in play mode plug in the firewire cable, then run winDV as admin from a folder other than c: program anything, does winDV find the cam?
    --
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  3. Let me try and I'll report back
    Quote Quote