VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi All,

I am a newbie in video and video frames , Hence this question goes to all the video experts :

I have a .mp4 file and i was able to successfully see the arrangement of (I,B,P) frames in a given video using ffprobe tool . Now my question is ..... if my original video has the following frames arranged ( please consider the numbers as just a reference i want to use) for example : {I0B0B1P0B2B3P1B4B5I1} is it possible for me to arrange the frames in the following manner : {I0P0P1I1B0B1B2B3B4B5} ? if so could anyone guide me on how do i proceed ? and is there any tool i can use to do so ?

As a newbie i am not sure where to look into for the right resources.

Thanks in advance for the help provided!
    Quote Quote  
  2. DECEASED
    Search Comp PM
    As a newbie i am not sure where to look into for the right resources.
    You may start by reading this: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Video_compression_picture_types

Now my question is ..... if my original video has the following frames arranged ( please consider the numbers as just a reference i want to use) for example : {I0B0B1P0B2B3P1B4B5I1} is it possible for me to arrange the frames in the following manner : {I0P0P1I1B0B1B2B3B4B5} ?
    But WHY would you want to do that

I suppose that it's not impossible to do it --- BUT the job would have to be incredibly well-done,
    in order to NOT confuse (or even worse, crash) the decoders
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Each frame has a delivery read-order timestamp and a presentation timestamp. That's because with IBP type pictures, the B picture type can reference a subsequent I or P frame. But a decoder can't know ahead of time what those reference frames are going to be like, so that B frame cannot be fully decoded until that subsequent reference frame is decoded first.
    That is one reason why there is a frame-delay buffer.