VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 16 of 16
Thread
  1. DECEASED
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Heaven
    Search Comp PM
    WTF

    For your information, there is no such thing as a clever bot.

    P.S.: Hmmm, the problem is older than I thought; it just got worse recently:

    https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/373727-You-have-been-blocked-by-our-clever-bot
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	stupid-clever-bot.png
Views:	532
Size:	14.2 KB
ID:	38579  

    Last edited by El Heggunte; 22nd Sep 2016 at 16:41. Reason: add image; add P.S.; add tag
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    Increasingly, I've encountered sites that complain if you have adblockers/pop-up blockers and won't advance to the main info section until you disable them.
    My response has invariably been: "bye-bye idiots, your info isn't ever going to be THAT vital to me. Not coming back!"

    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    In VideoHelp's case, it appears the clever bot thinks the IP address that it's blocking is assigned to a computer that is doing something naughty. The post El Heggunte linked to mentioned a couple of those things.

    Some people have indeed done too much scraping, to the point where big chunks of VideoHelp were copied and used to create other websites. It hasn't happened recently, but several years ago, Google and Yahoo would on occasion turn up one of these websites when I was looking for information to answer a question here. I even found some of my own posts, attributed to a different user name.
    Quote Quote  
  4. DECEASED
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Heaven
    Search Comp PM
    The image in post #1 is from a thread that I tried to start in the Test forum.

    But what actually triggered the "clever bot" response was my reply in the thread below:

    https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/380504-How-can-I-update-x265-encoder-in-Staxrip?p=2...26#post2459826

    The original text contained only the URL to LigH's x265 directory @ Mediafire,
    nothing more. Conclusion:

    if your post or reply is just a hyperlink to somewhere, then you must be a spammer.
    Last edited by El Heggunte; 18th Sep 2016 at 11:56. Reason: the preview button acted like the post button 0_o
    Quote Quote  
  5. Rancid User ron spencer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Ish-ka-bibble
    Search Comp PM
    Netscape 5?
    'Do I look absolutely divine and regal, and yet at the same time very pretty and rather accessible?' - Queenie
    Quote Quote  
  6. DECEASED
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Heaven
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by ron spencer View Post
    Netscape 5?
    Seamonkey 2.38, actually.

    http://cosmicat.com/extensions/titletweak/
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    Gotcha. 2 separate issues then...

    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  8. DECEASED
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Heaven
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by KarMa View Post
    Originally Posted by El Heggunte View Post
    For your information, there is no such thing as a clever bot.
    Me searching for Geraldo Rivera.

    https://www.google.com/#q=fox+news+guy+with+mustache
    Google generates different query strings, depending on "Javascript.status".

    #q=fox+news+guy+with+mustache redirects to Google's ``default´´ when Javascript is disabled...

    https://www.google.com/search?hl=en&source=hp&biw=&bih=&q=%22in+order+to+show+you+the+...e+Search&gbv=1
    Quote Quote  
  9. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by El Heggunte View Post
    The image in post #1 is from a thread that I tried to start in the Test forum.

    But what actually triggered the "clever bot" response was my reply in the thread below:

    https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/380504-How-can-I-update-x265-encoder-in-Staxrip?p=2...26#post2459826

    The original text contained only the URL to LigH's x265 directory @ Mediafire,
    nothing more. Conclusion:

    if your post or reply is just a hyperlink to somewhere, then you must be a spammer.
    It could be my spam/hack filter I use. It blocks some special text/code. What was the mediafire url?
    Quote Quote  
  10. DECEASED
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Heaven
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Baldrick View Post
    It could be my spam/hack filter I use. It blocks some special text/code.

    What was the mediafire url?
    This one:

    Code:
    https://www.mediafire.com/?6lfp2jlygogwa
    Quote Quote  
  11. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    But you can post it now?

    https://www.mediafire.com/?6lfp2jlygogwa
    Quote Quote  
  12. DECEASED
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Heaven
    Search Comp PM
    ONLY IF the entire text of the post contains anything besides the URL itself
    Quote Quote  
  13. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by El Heggunte View Post
    ONLY IF the entire text of the post contains anything besides the URL itself
    Yup. It's blocked by a security addon for my webserver. Not the smartest bot....

    But I don't think I will disable it though. The security addon blocks lots of bad crap also.
    Quote Quote  
  14. DECEASED
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Heaven
    Search Comp PM
    ^ Okay, so be it.

    But the error message should be clearer... in this case, at least.

    "You have been blocked by our clever bot" is unhelpful and misleading
    Quote Quote  
  15. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    I have now changed the error message so you get some idea what to do.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads