VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 11 of 11
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    United States
    Search PM
    What's the command line for extracting the embedded AC3 640 kb/s from the original TrueHD audio file?
    I'm familiar with extracting the Core from DTS-HD MA but not TrueHD audio.

    example
    Code:
    eac3to input.dts output.dts -core
    Thanks in advance
    Quote Quote  
  2. It's basically the same:
    Code:
    eac3to input.thd+ac3 output.ac3 -core
    Note that while DTS-HD MA always has a DTS core this is not true for TrueHD unless you are working with the un-altered BluRay. eac3to can be used to encode from TrueHD to AC3 with the bitrate of your choice, though.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    United States
    Search PM
    It's already embedded, so no encoding. Just extraction.
    Source is untouched.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    United States
    Search PM
    Code:
    ---(AUDIO)---
    
    Format..........: Atmos / TrueHD / AC3 embedded
    Channels........: object based / 7.1 / 5.1
    Bit depth.......: 24 bits
    Sample rate.....: 48 kHz
    Bit rate........: 4834 kbps / 4834 kbps / 640 kbps
    Language........: English
    ^source^
    How do you extract the AC3 embedded file using eac3to command line?
    Quote Quote  
  5. I already told you how.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    United States
    Search PM
    Code:
    eac3to input.thd+ac3 output.ac3 -core
    or
    Code:
    eac3to input.thd output.ac3 -core
    Quote Quote  
  7. "input.thd+ac3" is just a placeholder for the filename of your file. eac3to should auto-detect the input no matter the filename. It can also directly work on m2ts and mkv containers.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    United States
    Search PM
    I will give it a try
    Thank you
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    United States
    Search PM
    another forum said you don't need -core

    Code:
    eac3to input.thd+ac3 output.ac3
    Quote Quote  
  10. Hmm, it seems that other forum is correct. But it doesn't hurt either way so my command example still works as expected. If in doubt you can always read the eac3to log. It will tell you exactly what it is doing.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2001
    Location
    United States
    Search PM
    True, I appreciate the help from everyone.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads

Visit our sponsor! Try DVDFab and backup Blu-rays!