VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. On Dish Network, we just upgraded from standard-definition receivers to the new Hopper 3 system that has, of course, high-definition capabilities. As a hobbyist, I like to capture short, interesting clips from television programs using my Blackmagic Intensity Pro video capture card, and I like to capture raw/uncompressed video to make my editing life easier in VirtualDub.

The satellite receiver is set to output 1080i video and the capture resolution settings in the Intensity Pro control panel and the Blackmagic Media Express capture program must match or I'll get a black screen in Media Express. In the Blackmagic Design Control Panel, there is a "select input processing" setting that allows conversion from 1080/720 HD straight to SD, but that's too extreme. I don't really want to capture full-blown 1920x1080 video clips; I'd rather just have the card capture them at about 960x540 or so, not go all the way down to standard definition, and also without having to set my satellite receiver to lower resolution outputs. Is there any way to do this?

I'm not sure if it's the hardware itself or what, but my old Hauppauge WinTV 404 card allowed you to just set your capture resolution to whatever you wanted it to be. While I love the Intensity Pro's HD capabilities and the Media Express software, it's somewhat inferior as far as capture flexibility goes.

Capturing at 1920x1080 and 59.94 frames per second, I was expecting to have a lot of dropped frames, but on my first test capture, amazingly enough, this hard drive actually managed to keep up perfectly on a 55-second clip! And when I got this drive, based on what I read, I didn't even think it could write data that quickly. A 55-second raw clip is 6.8 gigabytes.