VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I have never used my IP4K for capturing before, but since I am in the spirit of playing around with capture devices and comparing them, I thought I would upload a quick comparison.

This is a follow up to an earlier thread:
    https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/379847-I-O-Data-GV-USB2-NTSC-Capture-Test
    So, here are 3 different NTSC caps to compare from an old Sony Hi8 XR camcorder using S-Video out:
    1. Canopus ADVC-300 to DV-AVI 4:1:1
    2. I-O Data GV-USB2 to lossless YUY2 4:2:2 which I transcoded (losslessly) to UYVY 4:2:2
    3. Blackmagic Design Intensity Pro 4K to lossless UYVY 4:2:2
    I had read somewhere people poo-pooing the IP4K as an NTSC capture device. TBH, I think it does a great job. And unlike the I-O Data device, you can adjust the gain. Speaking of which, the IP4K gain needs to be reduced slightly, but I just used default settings.

Enjoy!
    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search PM
    I processed hundreds of hours through my trusty ADVC110, but I've moved on to lossless capture. There is a kind of pastel, bleeding quality to DV that my eye, trained by those hundreds of hours, no longer tolerates when converting a high-quality NTSC source.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Vaporeon800 has a thread about capturing VHS with the Intensity Pro 4K which he created not long after it came out. He said it only had a 2D comb filter, which made it less than ideal for capturing composite video sources, that its built-in TBC was not very effective, and that the device drivers were buggy. That being said, he was not completely dissatisfied with it for S-Video capture, although he saw interference patterns with every S-Video cable he tried. Maybe the buggy drivers have been fixed, but the other problems still remain.

https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/370738-BMD-Intensity-Pro-4K-includes-a-professional...de-TBC-(Nope!)