VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    Hi All, I am a hobbyist videographer and editor looking to buy a new computer. Hitfilm which I'm planning on using has recently recommended the following spec, 1Tb SSD PCIE, 16Gb RAM, 64 bit operating system, Intel i7 with 4 or more cores and a GTX 1070 graphics card. Now I realise that with my budget of £750 I'm not going to get all that but what should I cut back on and what should I try to keep given that I am not a professional but still want to turn out something looking good.

Thanks for any help.............Keith Adams
    Quote Quote  
  2. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    I think the '1TB' would be the storage hard drive size and the SSD would be likely smaller.
    I use about a 120GB SSD for the OS. A 1TB SSD would be overly expensive, IMO.

Then I use three or so 1 - 4TB storage hard drives in addition to the boot SSD.
    16GB RAM would work, as would a 64bit OS.

And a quad core CPU sounds good. Video cards not so important, it's mostly for viewing.

And you likely could put it together or find a PC that would do what you want for about £750.

But others here will likely have their own advice.

And welcome to our forums.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search PM
    Thanks for the advice redwudz, will resume the search with a bit more knowledge. Ta.....Keith
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I have an i7, 4790K computer with SSD (boot drive) and a Velocity raptor, 10000 rpm, one TB HD.
    Really quick!!
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM