VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    Hello Everyone !

As I said in the subject header, I am new here (and in the field), and need some help for my son (single dad, he is 24), who has Autism. My reason for seeking help here is that given the relative lack of opportunities for a person who has Autism to have a fulfilling life and employment career, I have thought about starting him in his own video production business, ultimately with the goal of selling DVD's of his finished work. I will not go into details here, but I do believe there is a niche in which he is highly interested, which has some possibilities.

I am a complete novice and as with most things in his life, I will be there to teach him and help him along the way. As a newbie, I have many questions, which I am sure to most, if not all of you, will seem elemental in nature, and I ask patience, understanding, and forgiveness in advance., but his challenges are my challenges, and I learned a long time ago that breaking things down into small steps, is for him, the most productive way to teach a new skill. A quick word about my son. From my observation, he takes to technology VERY well. I am not saying he is a savant, but sometimes he makes me wonder. Sorry for the long introduction.

I have done quite a bit of research , and I think a 4K camera is the way to go as a way to "future proof" ourselves. Nearly 100% of our shooting will be from a tripod, and 99.9% of the shooting will be outdoors. With the knowledge about the specs and use of cameras that I have gained, I need the guidance and input from actual users of video equipment to help me make fundamental choice(s) about equipment and it's uses. These are the cameras that I am looking at, and I am open to other suggestions

Panasonic- DVX 200, XC-X1000, UX 180, UX 90

JVC- HM 200, LS 300

Sony- PXW X70, PXW Z150, PXW Z100, FDR AX1, PXW FS5