VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 10
Thread
  1. Hi all,

    at the moment I am just able to record through OBS via the "Virgin Anywhere" app. The quality is awful and it's all SD.

    The same quality is SD for all the web players available for the free channels. I live in the UK, and bbc iplayer and ITV promise HD quality but it really isn't.

    I want to get same HD quality as on TV and record onto my computer, or transmit while its live.

    How is it possible to do this? How is it possible to get a TV signal as the channel is being played onto my computer, in order to stream or record it?

    I have heard this is impossible to achieve and the only way to record content nowadays is with web players, even for the free terrestrial HD channels (i.e. ITV BBC) available locally.

    Please help.
    Last edited by Videomaker2016; 21st Jun 2016 at 13:53.
    Quote Quote  
  2. I forgto to give you some idea of my setup here.


    I have a Virgin media Tivo box + receiver.

    I have a satellite box which is receiving Hotbird 13e. I feel the satellite will probably be easier to transmit to the PC?
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    there are Solid state digital PVR's {personal video recorder} that will record OTA broadcast HDTV direct to USB stick or USB hard drive, similar to Tivo, but with out the easy use programing guide
    but they do NOT receive satellite transmissions
    or record via HDMi or Componet video signals

    Recording Satellite HD is whole different thing
    Quote Quote  
  4. appreciate that, i know about hardware recorders but that's not what I am after.

    I am looking to put a TV feed onto a computer desktop, perhaps showing in an application designed specifically for that (i.e. TV feed in Windows Media Player, VLC...whatever).


    As it stands, no platform on a computer is capable of HD at all. This is because any feed you get, own a subscription or not, is compressed horribly. The bandwidth which is available for TV transmission will never be available online, and the infrastructure for it looks like 50 years away.


    I want true HD, like BBC HD or RAI HD on the computer. Not the compressed feed which we are used to getting.


    I am talking about recording or broadcasting a TV or Satellite Feed onto something like OBS or Xsplit. Do you think this is possible with a TV card or similar equipment?

    thanks for your reply
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Here are two PC TV cards and a dual tuner with an Ethernet interface for receiving various DVB signals.
    http://www.hauppauge.co.uk/site/products/data_hvr5525.html
    http://www.hauppauge.co.uk/site/products/data_quadhd.html
    https://www.silicondust.com/product/hdhomerun-connect/

    They allow recording the broadcast signal as-is directly to a file on your PC. The HD Homerun Connect can be connected to a router to stream TV to computers for watching or recording.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Streaming is possible, but I have only glanced at how its done with a couple of programs.

    I use NextPVR, which includes NEWA for streaming: http://www.nextpvr.com/nwiki/pmwiki.php?n=Manual.NEWA

    IIRC ArgusTV can stream as well http://www.argus-tv.com/wiki/index.php?title=Main_Page

    Plex and Emby can stream.

    Some of the above re-encode video to stream it.

    I do not know enough about OBS or Xsplit say if they would be good options for streaming TV.
    Quote Quote  
  7. thanks so much guys, the hauppage definitely looks like the best solution

    So all I would need is to run the "Loop Out" cable from my Fuba box to the "Satellite In" Input on the Hauppage? Then it would be able to receive transmissions? They are already decrypted by a CAM and card from the box, i think this should work.

    For my virgin media box i think it would be a little more complicated. I am not sure it has an "out" and running the virgin media cable straight into the hauppage would likely result in an encrypted feed.

    i am not sure how to do the second optino but the solutions offered here a top notch. thanks
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Videomaker2016 View Post
    thanks so much guys, the hauppage definitely looks like the best solution

    So all I would need is to run the "Loop Out" cable from my Fuba box to the "Satellite In" Input on the Hauppage? Then it would be able to receive transmissions? They are already decrypted by a CAM and card from the box, i think this should work.

    For my virgin media box i think it would be a little more complicated. I am not sure it has an "out" and running the virgin media cable straight into the hauppage would likely result in an encrypted feed.

    i am not sure how to do the second optino but the solutions offered here a top notch. thanks
    The Hauppauge 5525 and similar PC satellite DVB-S/S2 TV cards take the place of a satellite receiver for Freesat. If you need a CAM to receive the service, then you would need a card that accepts a CAM, and the recordings would probably be encrypted. I don't know whether or not such devices are available legally, but Hauppauge doesn't make any.

    [Edit]The signals in the Loop Out aren't decrypted. Loop Out is just an internal split from the satellite lead feeding the Fuba.
    Last edited by usually_quiet; 22nd Jun 2016 at 10:25.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I found some other DVB-S/S2 cards, if Freesat is your main interest

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Definition-Digital-Satellite-Express-Receiver/dp/B0038LU03K/r...N89GBC85DM4BFN
    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Definition-Digital-Satellite-Express-Receiver/dp/B0038LU03K/r...N89GBC85DM4BFN

    This one accepts a CAM, but I don't know if your satellite service(s) would allow you to use your choice of third-party devices. Assuming that is allowed, Windows 7/8.1 Media Center is probably required, and recordings will be encrypted if a CAM is used.

    https://www.amazon.co.uk/Satellite-Encrypted-Windows7-MediaPortal-Compatible/dp/B00YXH...qid=1466613219

    I cannot be of much help to you beyond the basics. Nothing like Freesat exists in the USA and paid services require subscribers to use receivers leased or purchased from them. Some here buy DVB/DVB-S2 cards here to receive transmissions from various TV network satellites which do not encrypt their broadcasts. I don't do it. I just know a little about it via Internet forums. I know CAMs exist, but not much more.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member dellsam34's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Paris Ca, 92345 Mexico
    Search PM
    None of the hardware you have will be efficient for what you want to accomplish, If your satellite receiver is equipped with HDMI output using a HDMI capture card will degrade the quality because your receiver takes the compressed stream and decompress it thru HDMI and the HDMI capture card takes the uncompressed stream and recompress it again for capture, If you want to do it right as usually-quiet pointed out you will need a DVB-S/DVB-S2 device since your reception comes from satellite, They come in two flavors USB external box for laptops or PC card for desktops, There are variety of programs that can stream the content from the card but I'm not familiar with any of them.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads