VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 12 of 12
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    For some reason when encoding some tv series to MP4.... it crashes after like 20 mins all the time. Have i7 4790k, 16gb SSD, 5tb drives.. etc.. what can I do? Using Windows 10 built 1150 or somerhing
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Monitor the CPU temps in case it's over heating.

    Open the case and (carefully) clean out the dust
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member Bernix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Europe
    Search Comp PM
    If you convert to 10bit depth, it can be memory isue too.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Strangely I was able to convert like say 20-30 40 mins tv shows for hours with no issues for months and months for 2-3 years on a 24/7 schedule. Not always encoding... then suddenly I cannot even encode 1 40 mins show. It is also liquid cooled. Strange.... before 1150 built it was already not working about 1 month ago or so. I have a GA z97M D3H with i7 4670k no overclock. What is 10 bit memory issue. Can you explain? Is memory going bad?
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    How do I not convert to 10 bit memotry?
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member Bernix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Europe
    Search Comp PM
    10 bit depth means Main10 profile in h265. It is demanding on memory. But it dont hurt it only it can ?overfloat? sorry my poor english..
    But apparently you didnt change anything from previous coding.
    You can try Vidcoder. Similar to handbrake, possibly software problem. If you updated handbrake at that time..

    Bernix
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Vidcoder also crashes windows 10
    Quote Quote  
  8. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Is it windows that crashes(freezes/reboots/etc) or handbrake / vidcoder?

    I would try another converter and see if it also cause problems. Like Xmedia Recode, Staxrip, Tencoder. Nope, they are not as simple as handbrake and vidcoder.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member Bernix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Europe
    Search Comp PM
    Have you tried different video ? Are you sure the video, that are you encoding is o.k. ? And is the time of crash always same, or it vary ?
    Try for example Mediacoder or Avidemux or Staxrip then. They are not based on handbrake engine.
    I dont know what else to do. Sorry. Maybe set the program priority to lower, but I dont believe it helps.

    Bernix
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member leghorn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Search Comp PM
    Exchange you RAM. Retry.
    Das Leben ist eine Nebelwand voller Rasierklingen. (C. Bukowski)
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member Bernix's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Europe
    Search Comp PM
    You can check your memory by search for Memory and it gives you option restart and check. It is worth to try it as Leghorn mentioned, it can be a memory problem.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member leghorn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Search Comp PM
    I meant to say *your* RAM... Anyway, before exchanging memory modules you might want to run some tests on your RAM. Memtest86+ is the choicest software for this task. Hasn't let me down yet. You'll know your memory is down-the-pot when Memtest reports errors or even locks itself up (that's what I had encountered once).
    Das Leben ist eine Nebelwand voller Rasierklingen. (C. Bukowski)
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads