VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hi forum. I am brand new to the video realm and in need of serious help. I recently took on the task of recording a dance recital for my daughter's studio, never having done so before. I purchased a panasonic v770, and recorded the show, which turned out great. My problem is I am now stuck with over 2 hours of AVCHD video, at over 20 gig, that I need to edit a little and share with others. Can anyone provide advice on how to tackle such a task?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    You might try AviDemux.

And:

Schmidty3634, in the future please use a more descriptive subject title in your posts to allow others to search for similar topics. I will change yours this time. From our rules:
    Try to choose a subject that describes your topic.
    Please do not use topic subjects like Help me!!! or Problems.
    Thanks,

Moderator redwudz
    Last edited by redwudz; 31st May 2016 at 16:34.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Much appreciated redwudz. Like I said, completely new to all this!

To add to my question, and to make it more specific, here is what I am seeking to achieve.....

1. Edit out bit of dead time in between dances, as I let the camcorder record straight through. To do this, is it best to edit in AVCHD first, and convert to another format after, or convert then edit?
    2. Convert or compress into a suitable format to burn onto disks to share with other families.
    2a. What software is suggested to accomplish this?
    3. Considering the size of the file, I imagine compressing and fitting onto DVD just isn't likely, so I should assume I need to acquire a Blu-ray burner?
    4. What file format, assuming I need to convert prior to burning to disks, would be ideal to preserve quality as much as possible?

Any help anyone can offer would be appreciated.
    Quote Quote  
  4. You might start by providing more info: