VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    I'm a newbie here so have patience. I've looked around on this after discovering a new tool - AVStoDVD, but haven't found a definitive answer. What I'm trying to do is combine several DVDs onto a single BD. My reasoning is that I can extract the MPEG files for each DVD and then combine them with AVStoDVD (with menu buttons for each feature), but my question is, will this work to create a new VIDEO_TS folder of extended length which can be burned onto a 25 or 50GB BD and played in a stand-alone BD player? I don't need menus - just the features which are already in MPEG form.
    Last edited by RBTO; 17th May 2016 at 09:37.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    No. AVStoDVD makes DVDs only. No BDs. It won't be M2TS type (BD MPEG transport streams), it'll be VOB type (DVD MPEG program streams). To make a proper BD you need a proper BD authoring tool.

If you're trying to make a "DVD-Video title on BD media", this is a format that is highly untested, so support would be extremely hit-or-miss. If you've got the BD media, make a BDMV-compliant title.

Scott
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search PM
    No, this probably won't work exactly as you want. You can set the output of AVStoDVD to a custom size, and thus make a very big DVD from it, larger than you would normally see. This will allow you to get the most efficient use of the blank Blu-ray media.

Then use DVD2BD Express to make a Blu-ray out of it. I would suggest setting chapter interval rate in Preferences of AVStoDVD to 999, else you get slight glitches in the Blu-ray at 5 minute intervals where the chapters would normally be placed.

I made a guide for this process years ago: http://club.myce.com/f32/guide-combining-dvd-videos-into-blu-ray-331859/