VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Total newbie here. I tried lurking in the forum to read about what equipment is needed to capture VHS tapes and it seems overwhelming. So i hope I can ask a basic question. It it possible with about a $300 budget to convert some VHS tapes to DVD. I read some thread where people asked about a Combo DVD recorded and that seems like its not the preferred way to go. Yet other threads mention the ADVC110 (Grass Valley makes then now I think). People mention a TBC is needed but they seem pretty expensive.

A little about me...this will be a hobby and a starting point...I might add more equipment later but just looking to get started. I realize I wont have the same quality as a video conversion service and that is ok with me.

Is a combo unit really that bad?
    If so, can someone suggest a digitizer and VCR that could do what I want? I've read threads as far back as 2008 and I would think that the advice then might not be the same as now.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    I own a S-VHS combo unit with a TBC (JVC SR-MV45), I just don't have the machine convert it to DVD. Instead I use the tape deck to play the tape and use a capture card for much better results. A lot of combo units are on the lower end, just not all of them.
    Quote Quote  
  3. What capture card do you use?
    Quote Quote  
  4. Originally Posted by Trek921 View Post
    I realize I wont have the same quality as a video conversion service and that is ok with me.
    With a little work you should have better quality.

I use a Canopus box myself much of the time. A line TBC is very useful and your cheapest bet is to buy a used DVD recorder with a TBC and use it in passthrough mode. I have a Panasonic DMR ES15 but there are others.