VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hey! there all
    I'm a newbie to this forum. I would really appreciate if some of you folks help me out in suggesting me with the best H264 compression setting for movie footage. I'm not into hard compression the affects the quality of the output video. I would prefer a normal compression setting that which doesn't affect the quality of the video. My movies are in Uncompressed AVI format. I'm using MEGUI. Is it any good?

Please reply.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Hi.
    There's really no magic setting. The rule of thumb is to pick a quality you're happy with, an appropriate tuning (ie tune film) and use the slowest speed preset you can stand. Hardware player support for High Profile, Level 4.1 is pretty much the norm these days. The CRF value used to set the quality is called "targeting quality" or "constant quality" in MeGUI's x264 encoder configuration, depending on whether you have "show advanced settings" checked or not. I don't know why it has two names, but they do the same thing. They both set the CRF value.

CRF18 is roughly where the x264 encoder is considered to be "transparent" but some people are happy with higher values (lower quality and smaller file sizes) while others prefer even lower CRF values (higher quality and larger file sizes). I doubt too many people go below CRF16 though. You'd just need to decide what you're happy with. Generally you can get away with higher CRF values for higher resolutions. I mostly use CRF18 for 720p or lower and CRF20 for 1080p, but that's just me.

I use MeGUI myself, but most free GUI's encode with the same x264 encoder. If you use CRF encoding the file sizes will vary quite a bit from encode to encode. It depends how hard the video is to compress. The quality will be consistent though.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM