VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    Hi there. I have spent a lot of time researching, but haven't been able to find an answer specific to what I need (I'm sure its around here somewhere), and I'm a newbie, so here goes.
    Many people have posted about getting files from an external PVR and I am looking to do the same thing, however I don't need to decrypt them or re-record them or anything. I have a protected broadcast recorded (a sporting event of my child's team) and I have given up on trying to back it up by making a copy. Obviously, my computer doesn't recognize any files, and all I want to do is be able to copy the file so i have a backup somewhere that could be put back onto a new PVR if this one were to fail. As I said, it doesn't need to be viewable or anything.....it is just an anxiety thing at the thought of possibly losing the recording!
    So basically, I was just wondering if there was a program or a fairly easy way to get my computer to recognize the encrypted/coded files so I can make a backup of them, as is, outside of the PVR, just so I know that it is in existence.
    I know that as a last resort I can buy one of the expensive tuner systems to make a video copy......but again, last resort.
    I have a windows 8, windows 10 and also a mac air running el capitano (?), program recorded to an external drive through a Bell PVR. Sorry for the long post, but any help would be appreciated.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Quite often you can't simply add files to a PVR/DVR. They won't be recognized as the PVR/DVR didn't record them. Even if it does work for some models, it quite possible that when you actually needed to perform the procedure, you may not be able to get a model that supports it.