VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 16 of 16
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oregon, US
    Search Comp PM
    How do I take out the black bars in picture 1 and make it look like picture 2 ? John
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	sam1.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	135.4 KB
ID:	36575  

    Click image for larger version

Name:	sam2.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	96.7 KB
ID:	36576  

    Quote Quote  
  2. It's called cropping and it has removed much more than the black bars, it's removed a large portion of the picture. Every video editor has the ability.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oregon, US
    Search Comp PM
    Could you recommend a decent video editor thats free?? John
    Quote Quote  
  4. Rancid User ron spencer's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Ish-ka-bibble
    Search Comp PM
    Don't crop your video...leave it 4:3. Any tv now can crop on its own to 16:9. Once you do it you have altered your video forever...not worth it.
    'Do I look absolutely divine and regal, and yet at the same time very pretty and rather accessible?' - Queenie
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oregon, US
    Search Comp PM
    What would happen if I cropped it and coverted it from mp4 to mkv . then I set its resolution to my TV sets resolutio (1366X768)?
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    You would be:
    1. Losing a good portion of the image
    2. Losing quality through resizing
    3. Losing quality through recompression
    4. Forever keeping the image tied to THAT (fake) AR

    With ron spencer's idea, you're only doing #1 and #2.

    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    San Francisco, California
    Search PM
    How about a DarrinBox() filter?

    Click image for larger version

Name:	darrinbox.jpg
Views:	174
Size:	65.8 KB
ID:	36582
    Quote Quote  
  8. Member budwzr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    City Of Angels
    Search Comp PM
    Don't Zoom it, crop it instead. Those black bars are there because either the project settings are wrong in your NLE, or else somebody else rendered it to the wrong AR.
    Last edited by budwzr; 15th Apr 2016 at 18:07.
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member Cornucopia's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2001
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas
    Search PM
    No, those original bars (in picture #1) are there because the fullscreen's window is 16:9 (or 16:10) aka the size of the monitor's screen. And the show was shot in 4:3. So it SHOULD show bars when properly displaying.

    But if the OP doesn't WANT pillarboxing, a Zoom In (using the TV) during playback retains more of the quality than a resized re-encode.

    Scott
    Quote Quote  
  10. Member budwzr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    City Of Angels
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Cornucopia View Post
    No, those original bars (in picture #1) are there because the fullscreen's window is 16:9
    I see what you mean.
    Quote Quote  
  11. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oregon, US
    Search Comp PM
    So I shouldn't use a editor to crop , zoom in with the Tv until the bars aren't there?
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oregon, US
    Search Comp PM
    Also can I extend the picture out to "hide" the bars? Also how do I get rid of the pillarboxing and re-encode?
    Quote Quote  
  13. Originally Posted by RBCC View Post
    So I shouldn't use a editor to crop , zoom in with the Tv until the bars aren't there?
    You can do whatever you want but you will lose part of the picture or distort it. And you will lose quality from reencoding. And with most TVs you can do the same thing by zooming in. So why bother.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Oregon, US
    Search Comp PM
    So I should keep it like it is. To not lose anything to reencoding??
    Quote Quote  
  15. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    RBCC-Changed your thread title so other people will help you.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads