VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    I am a Newbie to this, so I don't know where to post this, but this is as good of a place as any.
    I was trying to rewind a VHS tape in a VCR and it sounded kind of noisy so I have tried to eject the tape out of the VCR and the tape strip got caught on something in the VCR so I tried to pull the tape strip out of it and think I pulled a little hard on the tape but not too hard to get it out. Now when I play any VHS tape I see that it's all static on the TV. The VCR worked fine before this happened. Did I pull the tape strip to hard? Is this an easy/simple fix? If I use any VHS tape in the VCR with the full static problem (i.e. play, rewind, fast-forward, etc.) will my tape be erased? I really don't want to have a repair person come look at it or buy another VCR.
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search PM
    You may have clogged video heads. You can try a cleaning cassette, although manual cleaning is recommended and not difficult (search the archive for instructions and follow them carefully). Clean the rest of the transport while you're at it. If that doesn't work, you may have yanked something out of alignment and the deck needs repair.

Next time a tape gets stuck, take off the cover and see if you can gently work it out of the mechanism. I will always cut a tape and lose a few seconds of video rather than risk damaging irreplaceable VCR parts.
    Quote Quote  
  3. To clean the heads there is the digitalfaq approved method, 99% isopropanol and DSLR sensor swabs/chamois swabs.
    http://www.digitalfaq.com/forum/video-capture/4330-how-clean-vcr.html

Avoid cotton swabs
    https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/371233-Isopropyl-appears-to-have-ruined-my-Hi8-camcorder
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search PM