VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
    Search Comp PM
    I have been using 'AVG' (free version) for 3 or 4 years now & its getting progressively worse. Its turned this computer into a slug. Thought I was having problems with 'thumb drives bigger than 4 gigs. Turns out AVG has the prob with them. It ingores settings in options-> 'scan settings' (when to do scan) mainly. Plus more, , , (rebooting w/o option of delaying reboot, etc. etc.)

What are all the various recommendations from everyone here? Any & all welcome. I do not go to wierd/ bad sites, I am as careful/prudent as I can be. (I have Ubuntu on a separate older computer I use if I get a wild hair, actually would prefer it but too many things do not work with it. 'WINE' does not get it for me, sadly)
    Yes, no, maybe, I don't know, Can you repeat the question?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    I've been happy with the freeware version of Avast on all my PCs, though their pop up ads get a bit irritating. But it works well and it is free.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Avast Free Home for me too. Have it on 3 machines (this and two laptops).
    I have always had it set to MANUAL update.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I use Bitdefender (free) on my HTPC, an AMD dual core that will be 7 years old soon. I use AVG (free) on newer PCs.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Always used Avira
    Quote Quote  
  6. I haven't run an AV in years. Who are these people that still get viruses in 2016? AFAIAC AVs are worse than viruses. They are intrusive, constantly nag you (cough, money please), slow things down, waste time, waste money, and waste my patience. I could go on, but here is the best part of all. There is growing evidence that running an AV actually exposes you to more risk than running without one! Took a while for researchers to come clean on what I suspected years ago.