VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
    Search Comp PM
    having trouble working with this unknown sourced dvd video. Seems like it's 29.97 progressive encoded interlaced (see combing). Most 5th frames are a blend. Also some dupes present, but original video plays smoothly.
    Tfm/tdecimate makes jerky video. TFM(), Deinterlacing or Bob/Srestore(29.97) plays smoothly but occasionally drops a frame. QTGMC/selectodd causes a dropped frame in the sample. Using "selecteven" avoids the drop in this sample, but creates one a minute or two later.
    Also sometimes the video plays smoothly regardless of field order, sometimes it's TFF only.
    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  2. Im no expert, but I tried playing it in VLC player with its built in de-interlace using the blend method, and the footage looked fine. Is there anyway you could pass it through VLC, and then out again?
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Code:
    tfm(order=-1)
    srestore(frate=23.976, speed=-25)
    The source is pretty poor, and seemingly completely interlaced on top of the telecine. Normally for FILM material it would be a pattern of 3 progressive frames followed by two combed frames for telecine. But with this it's all seperate fields. But I think I managed to get most of the blending out, and restore it to NTSC FILM.
    Image Attached Files
    Last edited by KarMa; 29th Feb 2016 at 18:26.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    karma, interesting solution, but it creates a dropped frame a couple minutes later (in same spot I mentioned).
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    You may try messing with srestores(speed=##) setting. -25 is the most detailed/slowest while 25 is the fastest, with 9 being default. I changed it because 9 was not removing all the blends in your sample.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Mountains of gear vaporeon800's Avatar
    Search PM