VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    This is probably a common question, and I'm no techie with this kind of thing, but does anyone know why a lot (or some) films and TV shows on commercial DVDs and blurays have very poor audio when compared to broadcast versions?. I watched a bluray copy of a film recently and the audio was barely audible. I had to turn the sound right up to nearly 100% to be able to hear it within a good range. Is it to do with bitrate, compression, or is it a manufacturing defect?. Ever since DVD arrived on the scene I often heard people complaining about the low audio of purchased movies, and these were often people who worked in repairing TVs and VHS players. In the days of VHS I never heard anyone complain about the low sound levels on rental or sale tapes.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    AC3 sound levels are often low. If the dvd has a LPCM track you could always try that.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM