VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. I'm a noob and am having a nightmare trying to edit the mp4s that my phone creates.

If I could edit them in windows movie maker I'd be happy but it doesn't like the files. I read that I should convert them to WMV in Handbrake but Handbrake doesn't have this option for export. I converted a few to M4V but movie maker just crashes and it won't even open the MKV converted files.

I also have a demo of Sony Platinum running which accepted the m4vs ok but I cant compile the movie now that it's edited.

I've tried renaming the files as .mov but nothing likes them when I do that!

Can anyone just give me an idea of what (and how) I should convert these files so that I can edit my home movies without tearing out any of the little hair I have left?

Any help very much appreciated.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Although I don't recommend it, you can convert your phone mp4's into wmv with XmediaRecode. Personally, I would just use a better video editor. See if this converted clip will play well in you video editor.
    Image Attached Files
    Got my retirement plans all set. Looks like I only have to work another 5 years after I die........
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Step 1 would be to download MediaInfo, and post the information it finds about one of these files you are having trouble with.

Should produce something like http://pastebin.com/D381HZv9

You can post you info here, I just used pastebin as it's long and just an example.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Also sounds like complications due to VFR. Use a converter that properly supports vfr input (while creating cfr output).

Scott
    Quote Quote  
    drifting, somewhere on the Sea of Cynicism
    Search Comp PM