VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    Hi all,

I have been using Sony Vegas to make videos for a couple of years now, and I have rendered all of my videos with the Sony AVC/MVC setting using the 'Internet 1280x720p-30' template.

I've always customized the template. For example, most of the footage I am using is old so it's in the 4:3 aspect ratio so I change the frame size to 640x480 (I have rendered some 720p videos before but still the same problem). I change the frame rate to 50fps and I set the audio to AAC, 44Hz, 320kbps.

So, I have 2 problems...

In my videos I sometimes put dialogue (sports commentary) over the top of the music. I use the audio envelope editing tool to slightly lower the music volume so the commentary can be heard clearly, but I don't lower the volume too much because I still like to hear the music well enough to create emotion, suspense, etc.

The problem is, in the Sony Vegas timeline it all sounds perfect, exactly how I want it to be, but once I play the file after rendering, the music (when the dialogue comes in) is so much lower than it sounds in Sony Vegas... But the thing is, it is not constant. As soon as the commentator stops speaking for even a second the volume instantly increases but then 1 second later the commentator speaks again and the volume lowers again. In the Vegas timeline the music volume is constant throughout the entire time the dialogue is playing.

Now, the other problem is, I have noticed that the audio is slightly out of sync with the video (whether I add dialogue or not). It is minimal, but enough to be annoying because syncing the audio with the video is what editing is all about (at least for me). Once again, everything is perfect in the timeline but not so when it is rendered.