VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. I use Nero to make my vcd's.
    What is the most time i can fit on a 700MB(80min) CD-R without losing quality? And how can I accomplish this(i.e. if it requires special settings)?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search PM
    I'm not a pro in this matter, but I as a guide a can tell you that as most of VCD's are created at 1150 Kbps, in an 80 MB CD you can safe store about
    60-69 minutes movie, my suggestion is based on just a mathematic operation.

Remember its just a guide...

eroso..
    Quote Quote  
  3. As Churchill famously predicted when Chamberlain returned from Munich proclaiming peace in his time: "You were given the choice between war and dishonor. You chose dishonor, and you will have war."
    Quote Quote  
  4. Thus far doing an xVCD, the longest i've done is 120 mins,, but kwag just did a Matrix rip clocking 136 mins..

zTr
    Quote Quote  
  5. Originally Posted by El_Mero_Zooter
    Thus far doing an xVCD, the longest i've done is 120 mins,, but kwag just did a Matrix rip clocking 136 mins..

zTr
    Yeap!, sure did!. Actually I'm testing it right now in my portable DVD player!.

But *** DANGER WIL ROBINSON ***
    Not all 120+ minute movies will fit!. Matrix is a good example of high compression because of the dark tones throughout the movie.
    So it compresses well.

Others, even less than 120 minutes, won't fit.
    It all depends of contrast/brightness/noise/action etc. etc. etc...

Too many factors to predict final file size with CQ.

Would love to hear if anyone has done "Pearl Harbor".
    It's 3 hours long, but about 60% of the movie is drama, so I wonder what the final size would be.

kwag
    KVCD.Net - Advanced Video Conversion
    http://www.kvcd.net
    Quote Quote  
  6. Originally Posted by objectseven
    how good does a xvcd look?
    Take a look at the link in the signature below.

kwag
    Quote Quote  
  7. Originally Posted by objectseven