VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker or buy PlayOn and record Netflix! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3
1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 68
Thread
  1. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Australia
    Search PM
    Hello Everyone

    I am pulling my hair out here trying to work out or find a solution to convert and burn DolbyHD 7.1 Atmos MKV files onto Blu ray discs.

    I have burnt 3 dolbyHD movies with DVDFab and when i play them i get the correct sound but the discs just keep freezing. I have tired 2 different blu ray players and keep getting the same result.

    I am thinking its the way DVDfab converts the file and burns it as original Dolbyhd 7.1 Atmos discs work without an issue.

    I have no problem buring DTS MA 7.1 discs its just the dolbyhd 7.1 Atmos discs.

    If anyone has a solution i will be entirely grateful.

    Thanks
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2000
    Location
    Sweden
    Search Comp PM
    Have you tried "convert" mkv to blu-ray/avchd with something else? LIke bdtoavchd, avchdcoder, bdrebuilder. And just see how it works?

    Or try convert the dolbyhd to something else if it's possible with dvdfab.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Australia
    Search PM
    Thanks for the tips but all three didnt work.

    why isnt there any support for dolby 7.1 sound tracks?

    Surely im not the first to want to try this?
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    You can try this:

    Demux the mkv with gMKVextract (requires mkvtoolnix)
    Take the *.thd track as input to eac3to. Select output as thd + ac3. I use UsEac3to to do this as I'm not much of a command line wizard...
    Eac3to will give a file with *.thd+ac3 extension. This means that the output contains two audiostreams: the trueHD track and a separate, independent ac3 track. You can check this with MediaInfo.
    Change the extension of this file into into *.ac3

    Take the demuxed videotrack and the newly created ac3 track and build a BD iso with tsMuxer.
    If done, burn the image with ImgBurn. It will recognize bluray video and will prompt proper settings for you.

    My guess is it has to do with official bluray specifications that states that in a THD track there must be an embedded ac3 track for legacy hardware.

    Since THD with embedded ac3 is not possible as one track in mkv, a lot of times there isn't one or the legacy ac3-stream is muxed as 2nd-or-more audio track.

    To be complete, a DTS-MA track is different in it's build-up. It has a core dts track, such you'll find on dvd's, for legacy reasons. Next to that there is extra audiodata. Those two together combined will result in the lossless DTS-MA track. Such a single audiofile can be muxed as one track in mkv.

    Hope this will help.
    Cheers
    Ennio
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Australia
    Search PM
    Hello Ennio

    Thanks for the reply

    I am trying to follow your steps but i am stuck on using USEac3To

    I have inputed the newly created + ac3 file i created in the previous step but i dont know what to do from here...

    In the Track Input and output format i changed it to THD+ac3 and pressed add but i dont know what to do from here

    If you could detail the steps i need to do that would be much appreciated as im a total newb to all this

    Thanks
    Quote Quote  
  6. Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Australia
    Search PM
    i worked it out and it worked a treat...cant thank you enough mate!
    Quote Quote  
  7. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    Yeah, UsEac3to is a bit of a learning curve either, but you'll pick it up. I did with a lot of trial & error to understand what I was doing...

    Anyways, nice to hear that things worked out ok for you.
    Cheers
    Ennio
    Quote Quote  
  8. Hi guys,

    First post so many thanks Ennio. Following your steps I was able to make a MKV with Atmos into a M2TS file.

    I had to go through all the steps however.

    Is there a quicker way if I am not burning to disk. I simply want to take an MKV file with Atmos and convert to a M2TS file with Atmos.

    Many thanks!
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Santiniuk View Post
    Is there a quicker way if I am not burning to disk. I simply want to take an MKV file with Atmos and convert to a M2TS file with Atmos.
    Yes, simply choose "M2TS muxing" instead of Blu-ray ISO in tsMuxer.

    If you don't make blu-ray, and your equipment supports theTrueHD/Atmos track only, my guess is you don't need the embedded ac3 track.
    Try to directly import the mkv as sourcefile in tsMuxer, and see if all elementary tracks are recognized.
    If yes, you can directly mux output to m2ts container.

    I don't think I've ever tried to directly remux mkv with TrueHD only into m2ts only with tsMuxer, so you'll have to try & find out. Good chance things will be ok.

    Cheers
    Quote Quote  
  10. Ennio,

    Thanks. Unfortunately I have tried this method. If it worked that would be perfect but I'm afraid when I load an Atmos MKV file in tsMuxer v2.6.12 I receive an error showing :-

    "Some tracks not recognized. This track was ignored"

    It shows the video track but no audio track.

    I'm using tsMuxer 2.6.12 which is quite old but have not seen any newer versions.

    Thanks.
    Quote Quote  
  11. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    Tsmuxer has issues with some types of audio,post a mediainfo of the video file.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  12. Hi. Please see below. Thanks


    General
    Unique ID : 178160587212380329980633137727644148059 (0x86087B21A627DEE19A62811C6890A15B)
    Complete name : C:\Users\st\Desktop\Dolby_Amaze_Lossless-ATMOS-thedigitaltheater.mkv
    Format : Matroska
    Format version : Version 4 / Version 2
    File size : 140 MiB
    Duration : 1mn 3s
    Overall bit rate mode : Variable
    Overall bit rate : 18.4 Mbps
    Encoded date : UTC 2015-08-29 18:05:24
    Writing application : mkvmerge v8.3.0 ('Over the Horizon') 64bit
    Writing library : libebml v1.3.1 + libmatroska v1.4.2

    Video
    ID : 1
    Format : AVC
    Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
    Format profile : High@L4.1
    Format settings, CABAC : Yes
    Format settings, ReFrames : 4 frames
    Codec ID : V_MPEG4/ISO/AVC
    Duration : 1mn 3s
    Bit rate mode : Variable
    Bit rate : 11.7 Mbps
    Maximum bit rate : 40.0 Mbps
    Width : 1 920 pixels
    Height : 1 080 pixels
    Display aspect ratio : 16:9
    Frame rate mode : Constant
    Frame rate : 24.000 fps
    Color space : YUV
    Chroma subsampling : 4:2:0
    Bit depth : 8 bits
    Scan type : Progressive
    Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.235
    Stream size : 88.4 MiB (63%)
    Language : English
    Default : Yes
    Forced : No

    Audio
    ID : 2
    Format : Atmos / TrueHD
    Codec ID : A_TRUEHD
    Duration : 1mn 3s
    Bit rate mode : Variable
    Bit rate : 6 694 Kbps
    Maximum bit rate : 9 096 Kbps
    Channel(s) : Object Based / 8 channels
    Channel positions : Object Based / Front: L C R, Side: L R, Back: L R, LFE
    Sampling rate : / 48.0 KHz
    Frame rate : 1 200.000 fps (40 spf)
    Compression mode : Lossless
    Stream size : 50.7 MiB (36%)
    Default : Yes
    Forced : No
    Quote Quote  
  13. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    Would it be possible to upload a 10 second sample?Unless anyone here else has issues with tsmuxer and dolby atmos then i can tell you for sure if it's a tsmuxer issue.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  14. Sorry I do not know how to make a shorter sample.

    The file is free to download from :

    http://thedigitaltheater.com/index.php/dolby-trailers/

    Amaze (Lossless-ATMOS)

    Thanks
    Quote Quote  
  15. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    Downloaded a sample and got the same error message as you,tsmuxer doesn't support dolby atmos.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  16. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by johns0 View Post
    tsmuxer doesn't support dolby atmos.
    I've imported several m2ts files with Atmos successfully in tsMuxer. Maybe it has problem with mkv-Atmos?
    Quote Quote  
  17. I think unfortunately that is the case. tsMuxer does not like mkv-Atmos.

    Shame. At the moment I'm using a Raspberry Pi 3 as a media player. Fantastic for the price. Only it will not do Atmos or DTS:X but that is the only complaint.

    To play Atmos I can stream with my Sony Blu-Ray player m2ts files fine but it will not play Atmos-mkv files. This is the reason I would like to convert them to m2ts.

    My Denon Receiver will do Atmos but is waiting for the DTS:X Firmware upgrade.

    So open to any clever thoughts on a quick and simple way to convert atmos-mkv to m2ts files.

    Thanks
    Quote Quote  
  18. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    Tsmuxer doesn't like the audio by its self.Ennio,can you upload a 10 second sample of your m2ts to see if works on my tsmuxer?
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  19. Well it looks like I have failed.

    It seems no method I can find can solve my problem.
    Quote Quote  
  20. ..... pardon
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by johns0 View Post
    Tsmuxer doesn't like the audio by its self.Ennio,can you upload a 10 second sample of your m2ts to see if works on my tsmuxer?
    Sorry johns0, been busy as hell. If not too late, is a 26 seconds Atmos-trailer still okay?

    Cheers
    Ennio
    Quote Quote  
  22. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    Yup.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  23. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    Here you go
    Image Attached Files
    Quote Quote  
  24. I'm a Super Moderator johns0's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    canada
    Search Comp PM
    Tsmuxer doesn't recognize the atmos 7.1 and just opens the h.264 and ac3.
    I think,therefore i am a hamster.
    Quote Quote  
  25. Thanks for following up guys.
    I've been investigating options since posting but so far haven't found a method.
    Quote Quote  
  26. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by johns0 View Post
    Tsmuxer doesn't recognize the atmos 7.1 and just opens the h.264 and ac3.
    You don't get this in your tsMuxer window?

    Click image for larger version

Name:	tsMuxer Dolby Atmos trailer.png
Views:	715
Size:	53.0 KB
ID:	37562
    Quote Quote  
  27. Just checking in to see if any new methods are available to convert a MKV file containing a Dolby Atmos audio track to a .M2TS file in one operation ?

    I'm still using the process detailed above in post #4

    Thanks!
    Quote Quote  
  28. Hello Ennio & Santiniuk,
    I tried to follow the method in post #4, but the result was not ok.
    I used Us UsEac3to v.1.2.6, input a file THD Atmos, output "thd+ac3", in the field "Global Parameters" there are options: Demux, Check, Test.
    I did not choose "Check" or "Test" because that options were not what I expected.
    I chose "Demux", the click "Run". After about 15' processing, it gave me the same file *.thd, NOT file *.thd+ac3 (!) and I checked the created file thd with MediaInfo: onyly 1 audiostream thd Atmos as the original one!
    If I set field "Global Parameters" in blank (mean I did not choose anything), it would give error, not running at all.
    How can I get file *.thd+ac3 as you both did successfully above??
    Please help.
    Quote Quote  
  29. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    You don't use the global parameters box. You have already a demuxed thd file as inputsource.

    In the "Track Input and Output format" box, the input will be recognised as TrueHD. Right next to that you can choose the outputformat. Click on the little arrow and choose "thd+ac3".
    Then click the "Add" button to put this to commandline. Then click "Run CL" and eac3to will go to work. If you don't specify outputfolder, the result will be in the same folder as the source.

    Hope this helps.
    Quote Quote  
  30. Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by Santiniuk View Post
    I think unfortunately that is the case. tsMuxer does not like mkv-Atmos.
    I wonder if tsMuxer doesn't like TrueHD file without the embedded ac3, to be more exact...
    And because of that, it can't deal with TrueHD tracks within mkv, as they can only be muxed within mkv as 1 TrueHD stream only.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads