VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I'm very new at this guys, so please bear with me:

My cousin converted a bunch of VHS tapes to DVD on a Toshiba VCR/DVD combo recording machine. He assures me that they all played after he got done, but I'm 90% sure he only tested the disc's on the same machine he recorded them on. Now, that DVD recorder/player went south and the disc's don't play on any other machine. Further, inserting the disc in 3 or 4 different pc's results in no recognition of the disc when it's mounted. The PC thinks it's a blank disc. He claims to have finalized them, but there may have been a problem he didn't know about.

I was able to "open" one of the discs, and found out that there are multiple *.gi (Global Image) files. I think he recorded a bunch of different videos on this disc. However, I can't play the disc, and am interested in either finalizing the files (if that's even doable), or converting those files to standard DVD type files, then I would reburn them. I just today downloaded and installed IsoBuster, but can't seem to determine how to convert these files. I did save the gi files to my hard drive, so I can play with them without using the original disc.

Any guidance would be much appreciated. I apologize for the tome. Thanks, Don
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    How big are the .gi files?

You should really try isobuster (or cdroller, etc) on the dvds instead.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    if you have one tiny .gi and several large numbered ones, then imageburn can reassemble them and burn to dvd. like this?

Imagexxxxxx(1_0).gi 1.99GB
    Imagexxxxxx(1_1).gi 1.99GB
    Imagexxxxxx(1_2).gi 1.99GB
    Imagexxxxxx1302.gi 1.60KB

then open imageburn in write mode and select the tiny .gi file

--
    "a lot of people are better dead" - prisoner KSC2-303
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM