VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    I am a complete newby to the world of video so I am hoping that if I explain my application someone out there can give me some advice or direction.

I want to be able to mount a camera in a fixed position to record the play on a billiard table. I want the table to fill most of the field of view without distortion. I tried with a sports action camera and it did not work because if I was close enough to get the table filling the image I got tons of curvature distortion.

Other parameters:

1) needs to be light enough to allow for easy mounting

2) should have the connection for a tripod

3) wireless control or remote control would be a plus but not a necessity

4) at least 720p video

5) clear sound and picture

6) and this is the most important: inexpensive.

Most of the cameras I've looked at have all kinds of features that I really do not need. I want to get the best quality video I can get for an application that involves no changing light condition, no movement of the camera, nothing tricky. I just want to put it in place and leave it there and just be able to turn it on and off, and have a way of recording (or transmitting to a computer for recording) the video, with good clarity.

Preferably for under $100, but if I have to go higher I might.

Thanks for any help you can give me.
    Quote Quote  
  2. To have "pro" result for $100 is unrealistic.

You might take a look into surveillance cameras that you can control with smart hone over wi-fi that can record video. If lots of light they might be ok. They have wider lenses, but no manual exposure (guessing, perhaps it could be fixed in settings), so you'd need to make sure light is not going to change.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search PM