VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 30 of 30
Thread
  1. way to Rigel 7 cornemuse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Cyber Dystopia
    Search Comp PM
    I have a A68HM Plus asus mobo (brand new), A10 5800K amd gpu, 8 gigs ram. First power-up, I am getting one long & 2 short beeps. Connected with hdmi, then tried vga, always 1 long, 2 short. ASUS web page dosent list (1+2), they have other combos, which dont help tho, , ,

    Oh yes, no bios, no nothing, just beeps.

    Ideas?? thanx, -corne-
    Cranky Old Man
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I took a look at the PDF manual and Quick Start Guide (both are poor references IMO) for your motherboard, which did not list the beep codes. I then tried searching on line. One possibility is the RAM is not detected. Make sure it is seated properly. If it is then, try booting with one stick of RAM inserted alone, then try using the other stick alone.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Toronto, Canada
    Search Comp PM
    asus

    Don't if it applies to your mobo but check the second post
    1long = 2short = no memory detected

    link

    according to this link it could be video
    Last edited by gonca; 26th Dec 2015 at 17:20.
    Is he gone?
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member vhelp's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2001
    Location
    New York
    Search Comp PM
    I have this problem all the time, too. But this happens on my old desktop "AMD dual core" I use every day--it beeps like yours. The 2GB memory card or slot is dusty or too warn out. I have to pull the card out and reinsert it one or more times. Sometimes many times before it finally boots up. I once spent 20 minutes without booting into windows. But sometimes it is my IDE cable, from the mobo and HDD. I will usually end up pulling it from both connection sides and reconnect it. That too takes one or more times before it will boot. And sometimes I will pull all i/o cards out and reinsert them again. After a while, it will finally boot into windows xp home.
    Quote Quote  
  5. Beep codes don't come from the mobo, they come from the BIOS. Need to know version and type of BIOS, then do the research.

    Must be an early failure as no other indications of power up other than fans (?), and beep. Disconect ALL drives AND cables. Remove, and Replace, only ONE ram stick, use a different one if availabale. Also test removing video card (onboard card? -??), and ALL ram check for beep code changes.

    If the beep code does not change with no RAM and/or no video, there is something seriously wrong. Most likely in a new box this is a partially installed RAM or Video module. Detected but not able to pass basic POST.

    Possible short to the case. Possible hidden crack which is flexed. Possible bad board. ASUS raises the odds of this last one.

    Disconnect KB, mouse, EVERYTHING. Bare minimum.

    Next is remove board from case, check underneath side for any conductive material, place on NON-Conductive surface - the mobo box is good for this, hookup power only, test, then RAM, test, then video, test, then KB, test, etc.

    Don't like ASUS boards. Gigabyte or Intel for me.
    Quote Quote  
  6. way to Rigel 7 cornemuse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Cyber Dystopia
    Search Comp PM
    Well, I removed ram(s) & tried with just one, (4 gig), booted fine, tried other stick & it worked fine also, just not both together. (both 4 gig, diff brands).

    That asus bios is a twisted joke!

    Now, when I booted to cd (xpp-64 bit), after a bit I get error "windows is shutting down, check computer for virus/chkdsk-f etc". Brand new hdd wd 500g. Drive is 'recognized' in bios. Mobo manual does not say anything about raid/non-raid issues.

    Any thoughts?

    -c-
    Last edited by cornemuse; 30th Dec 2015 at 12:26. Reason: feng shui
    Cranky Old Man
    Quote Quote  
  7. Can you exchange the board? I'd do that, if possible.

    Failing that, try another SATA port. The SATA drivers in the Asus board in my computer details have been a little flaky.
    You may have two ports using Asmedia drivers, the rest generic drivers.

    I'm going to follow Nelson's advice for my next build and get a Gigabyte board.

    I had to replace my Asus board when the onboard audio crapped out.
    But it and its replacement have always been a little flaky with the SATA ports.
    I got the Asus board because of a "good" deal on Newegg. Or maybe not such a good deal.

    Good luck.
    Pull! Bang! Darn!
    Quote Quote  
  8. If you have 4 RAM slots, try separating the two chips in two different banks. Try a different order of the two chips if only two slots. These are usually due to timing problems, slower chip first is usually better than faster chip first.

    Repeat the CD boot test with the hard drive totally disconnected, test each stick separately, one at a time, for an extended time. I usually do 3x the time frame in which the error was initially observed. Boot in Safe Mode if possible with CD, xp64 drivers had many, many problems. Try a Linux disk or 32-bit windows boot CD.

    If you booted from CD and did not do any testing or diags on the HD, then it should be mostly out of the picture, not sure why you are mentioning the hard drive. However, if you want to diagnose a limited number of components, such as RAM and mobo, and are booting from a CD, the hard drive can be ELIMINATED from the testing environment, totally and completely, by disconnecting it.

    Please make an effort to use standard, reasonably accurate time measurements. HOW LONG IS " A BIT"??? 20 seconds, 4 hours, what? It matters, A LOT, and affects many other diagnostic aspects, see testing time referenced above. In the first several minutes of a CD boot, for instance, you are still loading drivers, XP-64 drivers, no less, which could cause a shutdown message. After, say, 10 minutes or more - (It depends. Wait longer. Make sure) - then drivers loading is pretty well out of the picture. Could simply be a component coming to full temperature.

    Describe every action you took from power up to error msg. You should be doing nothing at all, for about 10-30 minutes. Then launch a memory check program. Not because I like memtest programs, but because it is easy and lengthy to run from a boot CD with no drive. Going online and playing a video for an hour or more can work just as well.

    Double-check if either, or both, of the RAM chips you have is on the ASUS compatibility list. If so, you may have a warranty claim. If not, you don't.

    IMO, high odds it's a flaky board. Need more info.

    Also, check all components for excessive heat, every few minutes or about 30% of "a bit".
    Quote Quote  
  9. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    I don't believe that windows xp 64 bit has a sata driver built in for this board.
    during setup you get the partition harddisk window, did you come this far with setup your windows?

    And different brands ram will most likely cause problems...Asus is not my favorite too
    Last edited by jan5678; 7th Jan 2016 at 06:33.
    Quote Quote  
  10. Ooh, XP 64 bit. I didn't notice that before...
    Pull! Bang! Darn!
    Quote Quote  
  11. Your motherboard is using an UEFI bios, did you disable "secure boot", activate "CSM boot" or "Legacy boot", and use an MBR partition table on your hdd ?
    Quote Quote  
  12. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by cornemuse View Post
    Well, I removed ram(s) & tried with just one, (4 gig), booted fine, tried other stick & it worked fine also, just not both together. (both 4 gig, diff brands).

    That asus bios is a twisted joke!

    Now, when I booted to cd (xpp-64 bit), after a bit I get error "windows is shutting down, check computer for virus/chkdsk-f etc". Brand new hdd wd 500g. Drive is 'recognized' in bios. Mobo manual does not say anything about raid/non-raid issues.

    Any thoughts?

    -c-
    Your motherboard only has two memory slots, only one bank. I agree with jan5678 -- using different brands of memory might be the problem. It is always safer to buy matching memory. In theory, if the specs are exactly the same, you might get away with using different brands, but from what I understand, it isn't always true in practice.
    Quote Quote  
  13. way to Rigel 7 cornemuse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Cyber Dystopia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by cornemuse View Post

    Now, when I booted to cd (xpp-64 bit), after a bit I get error "windows is shutting down, check computer for virus/chkdsk-f etc". Brand new hdd wd 500g. Drive is 'recognized' in bios. Mobo manual does not say anything about raid/non-raid issues.
    -c-
    No mention in manual, but after looking for 15 minutes in/on CD, I finally found instructions for recognizing hdd with xp 32+64.
    It was buried, buried deep, in the disk. Have to go out & buty some new floppies, what I have are really (10+ yrs) old and dont work. (still have one comp with a floppy drive, + a usb floppy drive)

    -c-
    Cranky Old Man
    Quote Quote  
  14. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by cornemuse View Post
    Originally Posted by cornemuse View Post

    Now, when I booted to cd (xpp-64 bit), after a bit I get error "windows is shutting down, check computer for virus/chkdsk-f etc". Brand new hdd wd 500g. Drive is 'recognized' in bios. Mobo manual does not say anything about raid/non-raid issues.
    -c-
    No mention in manual, but after looking for 15 minutes in/on CD, I finally found instructions for recognizing hdd with xp 32+64.
    It was buried, buried deep, in the disk. Have to go out & buty some new floppies, what I have are really (10+ yrs) old and dont work. (still have one comp with a floppy drive, + a usb floppy drive)

    -c-
    If you cannot get floppies, there is another way: http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/windows/resolving-setup-did-not-find-any-hard-disk-driv...-installation/ nlite free: http://www.majorgeeks.com/files/details/nlite.html
    Quote Quote  
  15. A beep code is the audio signal given out by a computer to announce the result of a short diagnostic testing sequence.
    Quote Quote  
  16. way to Rigel 7 cornemuse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Cyber Dystopia
    Search Comp PM
    Found some 'good' floppies, copied specified files from driver disk, goes a little farther before 'windoze is shutting down etc'. What is being copied from win install disk (bottom of that blue screen) goes by so fast, I'm not sure exactly when or where it quits. Last attempt I got to "words to effect, is this dual processor etc." 3 options there, (its an A 10 trinity apu). Nada, , ,

    (A case of floppies, several unopened packs, all bad except one just as old (10 years +) unopened pack of actual IBM brand floppies)
    Cranky Old Man
    Quote Quote  
  17. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I looked at the specs for your motherboard. https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/A68HMPLUS/specifications/

    ASUS lists Windows XP 32-bit as supported, but says nothing about Windows XP 64-bit. I went to the driver download page and found lots of drivers for Windows XP 32-bit, but only audio drivers for Windows XP-64 bit. You will need to use Windows XP 32-bit for this motherboard unless you can find XP 64-bit drivers somewhere else.

    [Edit]I went back to the thread where I suggested an A10 5800K and a couple of Gigabyte motherboards for you. Neither of the motherboards lists Windows XP 64-bit as supported. The GIGABYTE motherboard you originally bought, the GA-F2A88X-D3H lacks 64-bit drivers for SATA RAID/AHCI, but seems to have XP 64-bit drivers for everything else. Apparently you don't need to install SATA RAID/AHCI drivers unless you are using an SSD or RAID. For regular hard drives, you would just set SATA operation mode to IDE in the BIOS. This will let Windows use native IDE drivers.

    For your current ASUS Motherboard, you could also try setting SATA operation mode to IDE in the BIOS and see if that helps.
    Last edited by usually_quiet; 7th Jan 2016 at 14:12.
    Quote Quote  
  18. I see you do not wish to test your motherboard and insist on running XP 64. Good luck with that, I'm out.
    Quote Quote  
  19. way to Rigel 7 cornemuse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Cyber Dystopia
    Search Comp PM
    Has drivers for -32 and -64 on cd that comes with the board. (Ie: "software\disk_unlocker\winxp\filterdriver\etc .")
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	xpdrvs.jpg
Views:	361
Size:	100.5 KB
ID:	35166  

    Cranky Old Man
    Quote Quote  
  20. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Yet ASUS does not list XP-64 bit as supported for this motherboard and only has Realtek Audio Driver for XP-64 bit available for download from their support website. https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/A68HMPLUS/HelpDesk_Download/

    Have you determined that the chipset drivers, USB 3.0 drivers, and Realtek LAN drivers for XP-64bit are on the driver CD?

    Those folders in your screenshot contain drivers to add support for HDDs larger than 2TB, which need GPT.
    Quote Quote  
  21. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    I would first try with a known to be good Windows xp 32bit windows install disk.
    If everything works like it should than the hardware should be ok

    How far did you get when installing windows? Did the blue screen happen before or after the partition harddisk window?

    Why are you insist on using Windows xp in the first place and xp 64 in particular?
    You do know that the support for windows xp is long gone?
    Windows 7 is a much better choice in my opinion
    Quote Quote  
  22. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    @jan5678 I suggested Windows 7 some time ago, but apparently cornemuse wants to keep using XP for the rest of his life. https://forum.videohelp.com/threads/370428-Computer-Snafu?p=2376619&viewfull=1#post2376619
    Quote Quote  
  23. way to Rigel 7 cornemuse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Cyber Dystopia
    Search Comp PM
    "Yet ASUS does not list XP-64 bit as supported for this motherboard"
    Tech person said mobo was supported 32 & 64. (Took 4 days for reply, tech help a joke)

    Neither 32 or 64 would install. I have installed w10, it works, but I actually hate it, it is frustrating to not be able to set up computer like 'what I'm used to' for lo-these-many-years. It is sooo totally different, & no revert to classic view. Prolly wont authenticate 10, just put mobo on the shelf. Too late to return.

    -c-

    (edit - xp 32 & 64 = known good disks)
    Last edited by cornemuse; 19th Jan 2016 at 10:14. Reason: feng shui
    Cranky Old Man
    Quote Quote  
  24. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM


    You do realize that this driver is for hard-disk's that are egual or over 2.2 Tb?
    It has nothing to do with sata drivers!
    Windows xp doesn't have sata drivers for your board, you have to provide them through F6 during setup from a floppy.
    Or set the sata mode to IDE in the bios, in which case you don't need a sata driver.

    If you can get this working , then there is another problem with USB 3.0, Again windows xp doesn't support USB 3.0


    Good luck, and i'm out of suggestions too
    Quote Quote  
  25. Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Australia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by cornemuse View Post
    Found some 'good' floppies, copied specified files from driver disk, goes a little farther before 'windoze is shutting down etc'. What is being copied from win install disk (bottom of that blue screen) goes by so fast, I'm not sure exactly when or where it quits. Last attempt I got to "words to effect, is this dual processor etc." 3 options there, (its an A 10 trinity apu). Nada, , ,

    (A case of floppies, several unopened packs, all bad except one just as old (10 years +) unopened pack of actual IBM brand floppies)

    ??

    Is that supposed to be incomprehensible or did you mistype something?

    Are you installing Home or Pro?

    You should only have one processor, cores don't count, so unless you're quoting a routine message "dual processor" are words you shouldn't be seeing.
    Quote Quote  
  26. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by cornemuse View Post
    "Yet ASUS does not list XP-64 bit as supported for this motherboard"
    Tech person said mobo was supported 32 & 64. (Took 4 days for reply, tech help a joke)

    Neither 32 or 64 would install. I have installed w10, it works, but I actually hate it, it is frustrating to not be able to set up computer like 'what I'm used to' for lo-these-many-years. It is sooo totally different, & no revert to classic view. Prolly wont authenticate 10, just put mobo on the shelf. Too late to return.

    -c-

    (edit - xp 32 & 64 = known good disks)
    The specs on the product page don't mention XP 64-bit and the support pages don't have driver downloads for XP 64-bit other than for the audio driver. The tech support person may be incorrect.

    You are correct by guessing Windows 10 will not authenticate. You will only be able to try Windows 10. XP is not eligible for the free upgrade.

    You would probably like Windows 7 better than Windows 10. You can still buy a Windows 7 Pro license which is supposed to allow running incompatible programs in virtualized XP mode. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16832416804
    For more details see https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/magazine/ee851564.aspx
    Quote Quote  
  27. way to Rigel 7 cornemuse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Cyber Dystopia
    Search Comp PM
    Well, I finally got XP Pro -64 bit installed. One simple setting change made it work. There is no mention of it ANYWHERE, manual, pdf manual, asus online.

    On another (mainly XP) site, someone came up with the solution, simple.

    Enter Bios, SATA configuration, OnChip SATA Type, (set to) IDE <- thats all. (choices = IDE, RAID, AHCI)

    Why such a big secret?? They're doing their d****d to stop usage of older os's.

    XP 64 bit is supported at asus for this board, only driver needed (not on install/setup disk) is for audio.

    All is well, , , , ,

    -corne-
    Cranky Old Man
    Quote Quote  
  28. Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    United States
    Search Comp PM
    I actually did suggest that, but I guess you didn't bother to try it.

    Originally Posted by usually_quiet View Post
    For your current ASUS Motherboard, you could also try setting SATA operation mode to IDE in the BIOS and see if that helps.
    Quote Quote  
  29. Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Netherlands
    Search Comp PM
    Or set the sata mode to IDE in the bios, in which case you don't need a sata driver.
    Exactly like i did..
    Quote Quote  
  30. way to Rigel 7 cornemuse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Cyber Dystopia
    Search Comp PM
    Originally Posted by usually_quiet View Post
    I actually did suggest that, but I guess you didn't bother to try it.

    Originally Posted by usually_quiet View Post
    For your current ASUS Motherboard, you could also try setting SATA operation mode to IDE in the BIOS and see if that helps.
    I didnt not bother to try, I just missed that, , , my fault.

    -c-
    Cranky Old Man
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads