VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello Forum,

Newbie here and hopefully this post is ok or this forum.

I have a new project that I am way over my head on, and am seeking some purchasing advice on the following topics for my situation. There are the high level details, and I will explain the situation more in depth after:

High end camera
     Must be portable (air travel very often)
     Must be compatible with some kind of Tri-Pod or other attachments
     Still pictures and video (is it safe to assume that all digital cameras do this now?)
     Will mainly be shooting in-doors in good light. But may need to go outside 10% of the time.

Required accessories for camera that I may not be thinking about

Video Editing Software

 I haven’t edited video since I messed around with free software about 12 years ago. I’m 30 and consider myself tech savy in terms of picking things up fast.
     Must be able to overlay items on to the video that are interactive (mouse over pop up)

Additional Video software needed (conversion? compressing?)

High performance laptop for video editing

 Again, must be as portable as possible without sacrificing performance. Lot of air travel. Ideally would like to be able to carry the laptop, camera, and any additional equipment in an under the seat carry on bag.
    Microphone
     Is one needed for what I described below or is the imbedded microphone on the camera enough?

Anti-virus software
     Small business anti-virus software.

In general, we will be shooting “How-To” videos or Standard Operating Procedures.

The basic idea is that we will need to edit the raw video for online sharing later. We want to incorporate layover/animations of key items being used in the “How-To video” with some kind of tracking/status bar/timer at the bottom.

We would also like to be able to have those items be interactive and provide additional information when hovered over.