VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. When burnable DVDs first came out around 2000, I was the first to jump on board. Now I'm finding that even a bunch of my top quality verbatim burns are starting to be unplayable.

fast forward to today, and now I'm also a wedding photographer and I have clients who want their image storage to last a lifetime.

So how have people found M-Discs? I'm considering recommending to all my wedding clients that they receive an m-disc burn so their storage will last. I'm less concerned about the compatibility with all players than I am about the longevity.

thoughts?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    M-Discs may last longer or it may be marketing claims. Nobody knows for sure since M-Disc have not been in real world use long enough. There has been advanced aging testing done, but does that accurately mimic real world aging?

If your wedding clients want reliable long term DVD storage and are willing to pay extra you can investigate DVD duplication businesses that will make the wedding video into a pressed disc.

The wedding client can also be informed on how to make back up copies. The DVD can be ripped to hard drive or SSD. A 4 GB DVD can also be backed up easily to the cloud.

M-Disc may be better than a standard recordable disc, but it is still a single point of failure.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Its all the same material and hype about being properly stored could last x years

M-discs can take a lot of abuse but make sure your current hardware is able to use them ... unless players are "m-disc" ready then you have to replace the hardware as well ... and tell your clients to do the same if you do intend on using m-disc media

It's all about how they are handled and stored ... do it right should see them last beyond the point where anyone cares ... 50+ years later
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM