VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays,DVDs! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I have several home videos that are in .avi format (each are 2 hours in length) that I want to burn to a DVD and add chapters. I am fairly new to this stuff, so I'm posting here because I'm not sure which category this fits into. I want to keep the best quality possible when burning to the DVD.

In reading the forms it sounds like IMGBurn is a good software to use when burning the DVD. Will that take .avi files or do I need to encode those before burning? If so, what software is best for that or works best with IMGBurn and what format does IMGBurn need make the DVD?

Then I want the DVD to have chapters. Is there a software that detects the dead space in between home video clips and automatically makes those into chapters? If so, what is that software? If not what is the best authoring software that is easy to use to put chapters in manually in the selected dead spaces? Thanks in advance!
    Quote Quote  
  2. DVDs are always mpeg2 video so your files will have to be converted.

AVS2DVD is excellent, free software (make a donation if you like it) that will do everything you need. Imgburn is part of the AVS2DVD package.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Try AVStoDVD.

AVI type files do need converted to MPEG format for a DVD.
    If you look to the top left on this page for 'WHAT IS' DVD, you will see information on the DVD structure, format and specifications.

And welcome to our forums.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Thanks for the helpful responses! Does the AVStoDVD also create chapters or do I need a separate software for that?
    Quote Quote  
  5. It's all in there.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM