VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
    Search PM
    Hi at all.

I'm new to homemade video. Recently I bought a low priced camera Samsung HMX-QF30 and all videos I record got stored in mp4 in SD memory. Then I've noticed filesize is too big even I shot the camera around 10 min., I mean the files can get really BIG even they are 10 min. long and above all this I don't see a substantial quality on them.

Even worse, when I reduce filesize with Camtasia Studio 8 to an acceptable size for me, lets say around 200MB (10 min.), quality has a very negative impact. Then I was wondering when I download and see a mp4 movie 800MB size (2hrs. long) ripped from Blu-ray and has excellent quality.

Now the sixty-four-thousand-dollar question LOL
    What's going on here and what can I do in my humble PC?

Thanks in advance.
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    Camtasia studio???

Have you tried convert/shrink with anything else like VidCoder, Handbrake, Xmedia Recode. Use the high profile. Keep same resolution/frame size.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by Baldrick View Post
    Camtasia studio???

Have you tried convert/shrink with anything else like VidCoder, Handbrake, Xmedia Recode. Use the high profile. Keep same resolution/frame size.
    Thanks. Yep Camtasia Studio, I am in the newbie section, no? lol
    Alright, going to try XMedia Recode to begin with this journey in mp4 conversion/shrinking.
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    What can you do? Learn more about the fundamentals of video/audio, then take a more holistic/big-picture view and change your expectations about size.

But really, you bought a low price camera and are still expecting it to perform up to Hollywood quality standards?...

Scott
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Originally Posted by Cornucopia View Post