VideoHelp Forum

Try DVDFab and copy Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs! Or rip iTunes movies and music! Download free trial !
+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
Thread
  1. Formerly 'vaporeon800' Brad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Search PM
    The first tape I tried was cassette 1 of Titanic (it's expendable). The second tape I tried was Home Alone. I played two more, all is well.

    Put that first one back in, and this time around the automatic tracking couldn't handle it. So I tried Home Alone again. Same deal, and this time I attempted manual tracking but no position would clear it up.

    Click image for larger version

Name:	HA_HM-DH5U_1.jpg
Views:	1005
Size:	123.7 KB
ID:	34621 Click image for larger version

Name:	HA_HM-DH5U_2.jpg
Views:	915
Size:	153.5 KB
ID:	34620

    Camcorder footage that played fine the first time:

    Click image for larger version

Name:	Downtown_HM-DH5U_1.jpg
Views:	930
Size:	68.4 KB
ID:	34619 Click image for larger version

Name:	Downtown_HM-DH5U_2.jpg
Views:	772
Size:	90.4 KB
ID:	34618



    What the hell?
    Quote Quote  
  2. Dinosaur Supervisor KarMa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    US
    Search Comp PM
    Have the tapes been scratched by the machine? I know the same happened to me, found a hunk of debris scratching my tapes on one of the guide bars. Ruin a couple of my old tapes. Made an obvious line on the physical tape.

    Addition: I remember it played great the first time, while it was ruining my tapes. Second time gave me a line across the screen.

    Also that soda commercial brings backs many memories.
    Last edited by KarMa; 24th Nov 2015 at 18:25.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Dinosaur Supervisor KarMa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    US
    Search Comp PM
    Do these tapes play fine in another VCR?
    Quote Quote  
  4. Formerly 'vaporeon800' Brad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Search PM
    Tried the camcorder tape tonight in a crummy regular JVC VCR and it still plays without issue in that one.

    Click image for larger version

Name:	Downtown - JVC HR-J693U, EDIT =CVBS= JVC HM-DH5U HDMI.jpg
Views:	660
Size:	73.5 KB
ID:	34631
    Quote Quote  
  5. Member PuzZLeR's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Search Comp PM
    Ah, sometimes I believe there is no rhyme or reason when it comes to VHS and VCRs.

    Sometimes a VCR reacts badly to one particular tape and it's in a "bad mood" after that whether with a select set of tapes, or every one of them. This has happened to me before, and I would have to open the VCR and manually clean it. This should fix it. And of course, I would never play that tape again in that VCR that upset it in the first place.

    (Sometimes a tape cleaner can do it in some VCRs.)

    I hate VHS. I always did.
    I hate VHS. I always did.
    Quote Quote  
  6. Formerly 'vaporeon800' Brad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Vancouver, Canada
    Search PM
    Resolution: the eBay seller agreed to cover the repair costs, so I didn't end up having to try a manual cleaning. The local place I took it to had it ready the day after I agreed to their estimate.

    The invoice states: "repaired the tracking head mechanism, replaced tracking/audio head, realigned & bench tested."

    Problem is solved.
    Quote Quote  
  7. Video Restorer lordsmurf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    dFAQ.us/lordsmurf
    Search Comp PM
    The alignment screw was probably loose, and it slipped.
    That happens.
    As I always say: gravity.
    Quote Quote  
  8. Video Restorer lordsmurf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    dFAQ.us/lordsmurf
    Search Comp PM
    The alignment screw was probably loose, and it slipped.
    That happens.
    As I always say: gravity.
    Quote Quote  



Similar Threads