VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Newbie here and not sure where to post this question. I have a file recorded in Lagarith lossless format. When checking the file I saw it is 40GB. The bluray blank discs I have are only 25 GB so I have a bit of a dilemma here. I am not sure what should be done to reduce the file size and still keep as high of quality as possible. Add to that I have never burned a bluray disc before and I am sort of at a loss as to what to do. I will need to cut out a little bit but then thinking of trying to use multiAVCH to create menus etc. and then burn using IMG Burn. What would be the best and not extremely complicated option?

Would I have been better off burning in say mp4-h64 and then converting to .m2ts format before burning?

Time taken to help out a newbie here would be greatly appreciated (and please assume I know nothing in any responses. I won't be offended )
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Are you:
    1. Burning the file as "generic data" to archive/store the file?
    or
    2. Burning the file to be authored & playable in standard, set-top Blu-ray players?

If #1, your choices are:
    A. Get a bigger disc size (50GB Dual Layer, or 66/100/128 BDXL disc).
    B. Compress to a smaller format (and lose a little bit of quality) to fit.
    C. Split the file (using HJsplit or similar) into 2 sections, putting each section on its own disc (understanding that it must be first put back together to be fully usable). Similar to Zip or Rar disc spanning.

If #2, you MUST first convert/re-compress anyway in order for it to be HDMV (Blu-ray) playback-compatible, and that most likely will bring it down to fit within your capacity constraint. Since Lagarith is roughly ~200-275Mbps and AVC (most common & efficient codec used in Blu-ray playback) is only compliant up to BD's 40Mbps max (for 2D), that means 200/40=5x drop in size. So your 40GB current file would end up being ~8GB.