VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Hello.

Sorry this is a first post, but can someone possibly help me ? I have an .asf file that I received from a friend that can't seem to be played at all? (he couldn't get it to work). I don't know if its fully broken or if it can be repaired at all? Isn't asf a really old format ? (At least by 2015 ? I apologize if I'm using the wrong terminology, truly I am a newb/pleb in all of this).

I've never done any sort of video editing (let alone video repairing). So I literally have no idea what to do with this file. I'm sorry to ask such a big question, but I don't know where to start with trying to fix this thing, I don't even know if it can be fixed.

I tried downloading ASFbin as it prior search to see if there were tools that could help, I downloaded the GUI. But either I don't know what I'm doing when I tried using ASFbin with it and got nothing with the output file or it may not be fixable?

Help anyone please? Where should I at least try to begin?
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    How big is the file?

In asfbingui did you add the asf by select files from folder, choose the asf, click the <<<--- and last click Cut/Copy/Join to try make a new out.asf (in the Destinaton folder)? No file created?
    Click image for larger version

Name:	asfbingui.png
Views:	1377
Size:	25.8 KB
ID:	34445

Or else try open and convert the asf to mp4/mkv/avi/ec with an encoder like xmedia recode, handbrake, avidemux, etc. They will probably not even open the file if it's completly broken.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Mod Neophyte Super Moderator redwudz's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    You might also see if MediaInfo will give you a bit more information about the file. It should read ASF format.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Originally Posted by Baldrick View Post
    How big is the file?