VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3
1 2 3 LastLast
Thread
  1. I am completely new to ripping videos from DVD and HandBrake. I want to rip some videos from DVD to mp4 format. So I used HandBrake to rip the video from DVD and the video output was successfully coverted to mp4. But the video size is 720 x 466 instead of the 1280 x 720 format. I used the default settings in Handbrake.

What settings do I need to change in HandBrake to convert the original DVD 720 x 480 video size to 1280 x 720 video size?

Quote Quote  
  2. DVDs are encoded at 720x480 or 720.576. Handbrake never increases the frame size.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Originally Posted by jagabo View Post
    DVDs are encoded at 720x480 or 720.576. Handbrake never increases the frame size.
    I see, learning something there. What software should I use next to convert the 720 x 466 video to a 1280 x 720 video?
    Quote Quote  
  4. Originally Posted by videobruger View Post
    Vidcoder. A frontend for HandBrake.
    Do I need to uninstall HandBrake to use Vidcoder? Can both Vidcoder and HandBrake co-exists?

One problem is, according to the developer's website, Vidcoder does not defeat CSS encryption so I would still need to use HandBrake with libdvdcss-2.dll.
    Quote Quote  
  5. How about just sticking to HandBrake and use another software to convert the 720x480 video to 1280x720 video?

What video conversion software would you recommend?
    Quote Quote  
  6. Why does it have to be 1280x720? It's not as if you're actually creating a hi-def video from a standard-def source. It's not going to look any better than it does on the DVD.
    Quote Quote  
  7. I wanted a "full size" video upon opening
    Quote Quote  
  8. Tried this: http://www.videotovideo.org/

100% free software and no malware embedded

Converts 720x480 to 1280x720 but:

- output video is not 16:9 even though "16:9" is selected
    - quality is worse than original video from HandBrake