VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    I have both the Panasonic 7750 and Panasonic 1980 decks and due to an upcoming move can only keep one of them. I am a novice and only use the decks to transfer home and friends VHS tapes to my computer. I generally gravitate to the 1980 as it is lighter and gives good results. Am I giving up a lot of features that I am not aware of if I sell the 7750???
    Quote Quote  
  2. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Simple, keep the one that gives good results. The end result is the most important factor.
    It's not important the problem be solved, only that the blame for the mistake is assigned correctly
    Quote Quote  
    Search PM
    Seriously?....no room for a 2nd VCR....ANYWHERE? Are you moving into a Barbie Funhouse?
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    As per the features of the 7750, AFAIK, it's one of those high end decks - but too high end. What this means is that it only gives good results with only high end stuff. It likely sucks with stuff like tapes with EP TV recordings (or may not even accept them). What you'd miss out with the 7750 is maybe an edge with high end tapes.

But then again, what is a "high end" VHS tape anyway? And what real edge would a 7750 really be over a 1980, which can give good results on a high end tape, AND deliver on low end tapes as well.

Here's my take:

If you want performance on only high end tapes - keep the 7750.

If you want overall performance, on a variety of tape source - keep the 1980.

If you want space - keep the 1980 (which is also heavy enough).

If you want reliability - keep the 7750. Your 1980 should begin malfunctioning soon enough, likely sooner than the 7750, and won't revive without an expensive procedure of replacing caps - electronic surgery - which is arguably not always effective with the 1980.

If you want a higher sale price - sell the 1980. At least you'll make some money before it begins to die.