VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    I want to be able to edit both basic flat videos and animate in 3D ...to make things impossible in real life possible on video etc. E.g. If I wanted to edit a film like Clash of the Gods (huge fire man conjoined with a mountain), or say Lord of the rings etc.

- I know there will be plugins etc to add.
    - I don't necessarily want to be the best in the world. Just want to catch fun and edit some kind of movies/scenes I write, e.g. A child that morphed into a wall-creeping creature before his mother.

Stuff like that can be challenging, I know, but would you consider the following a 'complete' set for such? Like... if I brag, say I am an editor, would the progs below be like ...okay?? I will do my research. I just need some kind of complete list, a specific list to focus on. Please refine as needed if I have made repetitions or omissions, e.g C4D might (i dunno) do what Blender would do etc. Narrow down as much as you can.

Looking around I often see a particular set of programs/plugs.

Premiere Pro (Started with this)
    After Effects (Started with this)
    Photoshop
    Cinema 4D
    3D Max
    Blender

Thanks in advance.
    Quote Quote  
  2. There is quite a bit of overlap in the last 3. They do similar things. Also Maya would be more popular for this type of work. Each one has many specific plugins that can help - it would be too numerous to list

"Morphing" realistically in 3D is very very very difficult. If you have to ask... I would say forget about it right now. It's very involved, because it includes not only polygon morphing for the 3D models, but also very difficult 3D compositing challenges with multiple passes, scene lighting, shadows, specular, diffuse, reflections, refractions.

2D morphing is still difficult, but many times easier - you can fake some of the 3d things like shadows , reflections etc.. with compositing tricks
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search Comp PM