VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Member
    Search Comp PM
    Hello Everyone, I should state up front that I am very new to the things I am going to ask here and may sound stupid at one or more instances. Here is the situation I am in: I recently bought my first big screen that is a used HD Ready LG Plasma TV (42PJ350r). This TV has a USB port which is capable of playing movies in *.avi format. But my source of movies (my local area network movie shearing server) has most of the movies in *.mkv format. I am able to convert *.mkv format in *.avi format using video converter tools but the problem is that picture quality of the movie in *.mkv format is much higher than that of *.avi. I watch movies in *.mkv format on my PC 19 inch LCD or on my mobile 5 inch screen and they look great on both screens. But when I watch converted *.avi format movie on my 42 inch Plasma TV, they look washed out. When I change TV aspect ratio to "Original" movies looked acceptable but not as great as on my PC or mobile. I understand that HD Ready is only 1024 x 768 pixels screen but from the statements of other owners of this TV (in the age of year 2010 - 2012) it sounds like movies should look at least acceptable quality on TV, when stretched to full screen viewing. One more confusing thing is that my TV HD Ready resolution is 1024 x 768 and standard HD Ready i.e. 720P resolution is 1280 x 720. Is this difference in resolution can also hamper tv in playing true 720P content? Though I tried my best to state the situation and facts as well as I can but may be my question is not clear and understandable for answering. Do let me know if you need more input from my side.
    Quote Quote  
  2. I'm a MEGA Super Moderator Baldrick's Avatar
    Search Comp PM
    How do you convert to AVI? Do you keep the HD frame size/resolution(1280x720 pixels or higher)? Or are you converting to 720x576pixels? If you have no idea can you check the resolution in the avi with Mediainfo.