VideoHelp Forum

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. I used Canopus ADVC110 to capture these VHS tapes. I'm going to convert them to DVD. Can avisynth improve audio quality too?
    I'm a newbie. What avisynth script should I use for these videos?

http://www.mediafire.com/watch/v316eq78lo7j3j3/blackwhitevideo.avi
    Black and white video of just text. A lot of static/video noise. Background audio noise. Garbage at bottom

http://www.mediafire.com/watch/9kzlnwirxyai3w3/reunion.avi
    Normal video, nothing seems wrong. Garbage at bottom.
    Last edited by digicube; 23rd Sep 2015 at 20:38.
    Quote Quote  
  2. My first bit of advice would be to go back and start over. Don't you have a way to adjust the levels/brightness/contrast? That should always be done before capping. The blacks are crushed and the whites badly blown out.

The second bit of advice would be to get a line TBC in there somewhere.

I work on audio using Audacity and rejoin the audio with the video when authoring.

Using this script:

AviSource("reunion.avi",False)
    ColorYUV(Analyze=True).Limiter(Show="Luma")

shows the blacks and whites outside of 16-235.
    Image Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.jpg
Views:	576
Size:	112.3 KB
ID:	33810  

Quote Quote  
  3. I don't have a TBC VCR. My VCR is SONY SLV-N88. Looks like there's nothing avisynth filters can do to make blackwhitevideo.avi look any better. I thought it was possible because of the many amazing avisynth restoration examples I have seen on the internet. Maybe those are applicable for films only.
    Quote Quote  
  4. Originally Posted by digicube View Post