VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2
1 2 LastLast
Thread
  1. Member
    Search PM
    I Have a Jvc DR-MV150B DVD/VHS VIDEO RECORDER Combo..I Have Been Recording on Dvd-r TDK Brand Disc and have had no problems..I recently purchased Verbatim DVD-RW 4x SERL .Verbatim is recommended by JVC as a compatible disc...When i inserted the disc it was unable to read any of them. However i can insert it in my Pc and It recognizes it right away.. My unit was made in 2009 . Im not sure if i bought the right disc..Im a newbie to this... Please Help..ThanksClick image for larger version

Name:	verbatim.jpg
Views:	564
Size:	125.5 KB
ID:	33722
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Your manual should tell you what disks are compatable.

It is not the brand that matters but the speed of the disk. Many recorders will baulk at disks over 2x. Even disks rated 1-4x can fail. I know since my Sony refuses to record on such disks even though the manual will state 2x. With my recorder I found Sony Disks 2x/1x do work. But I tried many others and just got lucky with these.
    Quote Quote  
  3. Member
    Search PM
    Recommended recordable DVD discs
    DVD-R
    Mitsubishi(8x,16x)
    V
    erbatim(8x,16x)
    JVC(8x,16x)
    -
    DVD+R
    Mitsubishi(8x,16x)
    V
    erbatim(8x,16x)
    JVC(8x,16x)
    -
    DVD-RW
    Mitsubishi(4x)
    V
    erbatim(4x)
    JVC(6x,4x)
    Maxell(4x)
    DVD+RW
    Mitsubishi(4x)
    HP(4x)
    V
    erbatim(4x)
    Ricoh(4x)
    DVD-RAM
    Mitsubishi(3x)
    Maxell(5x) This is what it recommends but it did not work... i could only get a TDK Brand dvd-r to work i tried sony and memorex and the device would not read the dvd-r 16x only the TDK

JVC(3x)
    Last edited by itsjstkim; 18th Sep 2015 at 08:44.
    Quote Quote  
    Search Comp PM
    Those disks might well have worked back when that manual (you said 2009) was published.