VideoHelp Forum
+ Reply to Thread
Thread
  1. Ok firstly I am new to this, so please be gentle. I am looking to build a computer (media server) to use only as a media player for my blu rays. I have a collection of over 60 blu rays and would like to store them onto my media server and have it connected to my av receiver to play through to my tv via HDMI.

I have built a computer before (don't laugh please) in 2001 and it lasted me a good 10 years before I could no longer update it and had to be junked. I know I will need a lot of TB's but what I am after is very specific and I would like some advice on the matter as I am in no way a professional. I would like advice on what motherboard I should be looking at, the cpu, grafics card and raid card plus anything else I may need, like the amount of ram etc.

The features I am looking for in my media server:

1. wireless keyboard and mouse
    2. bluetooth to allow me to use my iphone or ipad as a remote
    3. at least 1 hdmi port (but 2 would be better)
    4. redundancy, I was thinking of having 8 hard drives 4 for use and 4 for redundancy just in case something fails. I need this because I will getting rid of my blu rays to make space.
    5. I want to make rips of my blu rays in their entirety and in true 1080p and 5.1 surround sound, this means special features, subtitles etc etc (Yes I know it will take up a lot of space). I am told this will require me ripping them into .iso files but I am not 100% certain on that.
    6. Enough power in the cpu and graphics card to not have choppy play back or stuttering. I have read this will mean pre transcoding? I am not sure if that is a mother board feature or what.
    7. It will be on all the time so the lower the power consumption the better and the quieter the better.